"Double Edge" and Cluster Missiles?

By heychadwick, in X-Wing Rules Questions

"Double Edge" is a Tie Aggressor pilot that says:

After you perform a <turret> or <missile> attack that misses, you may perform a bonus attack using a different weapon.

So, how does that work with Cluster Missiles? Can he get a bonus attack twice if both Cluster Missiles miss? As in, he fires at one guy, misses, but can than get a free attack with main guns. Then, he fires the 2nd set of Missiles and misses a different target. Fire main guns again?

What happens if his bonus attack is with a Turret and THAT attack misses? Can he then fire again with main guns? Or what if he keeps chaining Turrets and Missiles until he has no charges left?

Hotshot Gunner seems like a good thing on Doube Edge. Fire a Dorsal Turret at R2 at someone who is tokened up and near someone else. Expect the miss on 2 dice. Don't use any mods. Strip the token and fire Cluster Missiles at the guy! If you miss the main target, you can fire again. Then fire 2nd set of Clusters at 2nd Target. Strip his tokens. If you miss, fire again.

No. Because whatever you do, you can only ever gain one bonus attack per round (rules reference, page 6).

Edited by Magnus Grendel
26 minutes ago, heychadwick said:

Can he get a bonus attack twice

No. No matter what, unless otherwise stated, a ship can only ever perform 1 bonus attack per round. No matter how many abilities or opportunity's that ship gets to perform bonus attacks.

27 minutes ago, heychadwick said:

What happens if his bonus attack is with a Turret and THAT attack misses? Can he then fire again with main guns?

Nope. If the first attack misses, and the bonus attack misses, hes done. No more attacks.

28 minutes ago, heychadwick said:

Hotshot Gunner seems like a good thing on Doube Edge. Fire a Dorsal Turret at R2 at someone who is tokened up and near someone else. Expect the miss on 2 dice. Don't use any mods. Strip the token and fire Cluster Missiles at the guy! If you miss the main target, you can fire again. Then fire 2nd set of Clusters at 2nd Target. Strip his tokens. If you miss, fire again.

Again no. What you've laid out here is exactly why there is a 1 bonus attack limit per round. The *ONLY* ships that can make multiple bonus attacks per round, are huge ships, and they have specific rules stating so. But otherwise,

Rules Reference, pg 6

Quote

A ship can perform only one bonus attack per round.


30 minutes ago, Magnus Grendel said:

No. Because whatever you do, you can only ever gain one bonus attack per round (rules reference, page 6).

I have been living in Huge ship land and forget!

56 minutes ago, heychadwick said:

I have been living in Huge ship land and forget!

Indeed. Clearly we need "Double Edge" as a gunner for a raider....

3 hours ago, Magnus Grendel said:

Indeed. Clearly we need "Double Edge" as a gunner for a raider....

Hrm.... Could be fun.

My pitch: "After you perform a bonus attack that misses, you may spend 1 charge to perform it again against the same target, paying all required costs." Three charges, non-recurring.

Aaaaaaand of course that’s what we thought about bombs too with deathfire .....

but until otherwise

5 hours ago, JBFancourt said:

Aaaaaaand of course that’s what we thought about bombs too with deathfire .....

but until otherwise

While I agree with you on the bomb rules, the key difference is we have a rule that explicitly says you get no more than one bonus attack per round. The bomb rules are less exact in their wording and left a small amount of open endedness that FFG took advantage of to give a strange, but understandable ruling.

Just for myself, I always thought the best interpretation of the bomb drop rule was one standard drop (like one standard action), not "one drop ever."

1 hour ago, SwampyCr said:

The bomb rules are less exact in their wording and left a small amount of open endedness that FFG took advantage of to give a strange, but understandable ruling.

It really didnt. I'm pretty sure that..

Quote

Each ship can drop or launch only one device per round.

...was pretty clear and to the point, and didn't, in fact, leave any room for misinterpretation. It was only the contradicting abilities and FFG's 'misguided' ruling to fix their badly worded ability on them, that made that ruling nearly useless.

And bonus attacks are worded the same way.

Quote

A ship can perform only one bonus attack per round.

Your pitch has the same problem Deathfire/Paige had, where it does not explicitly state that it overrides the 1 bonus attack per round rule, but its obviously meant to. Meaning that limit means nothing then unless the abiltiy specifically says it abides by it? That is incredibly messy and id really rather not deal with that again. Its annoying enough with bombs.