[Ruling] Monastery Protector

By Bayushi Shunsuke, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Does my Monastery Protector apply its 1 fate cost to targets chosen by me during my opponent's events? e.g. Defend Your Honor, Court Games.

Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

Does my Monastery Protector apply its 1 fate cost to targets chosen by me during my opponent's events? e.g. Defend Your Honor, Court Games.

It does!

[Tyler Parrott, 29 Dec 2019]

If i have a Monastery Protector and a non-Monk in the conflict and my opponent plays Court Games, but doesn't have the 1 fate and i choose Monastery Protector for the Court Games, what happens?

1 minute ago, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

If i have a Monastery Protector and a non-Monk in the conflict and my opponent plays Court Games, but doesn't have the 1 fate and i choose Monastery Protector for the Court Games, what happens?

If your opponent plays Court Games with no fate and you have a Monastery Protector, none of your Tattooed characters can be chosen as the target. The opponent must be able to spend a fate for you to be able to choose the character.

[Tyler Parrott, 30 Dec 2019]