Originally posted at BGG:
Hi everyone. My gaming group has played this game 5 times now and really enjoy it. After reading the "Compiled List of Accepted Q&A" we are more confused than ever about the resolution of battles. Specifically look at:
Q: How do abilities that require a unit to retreat in the middle of the battle work (such as the Sorceress special ability)?
FAQ-A: The retreating unit is no longer considered to be participating in the battle, and must immediately move out of the area (following normal retreat rules). Since it is no longer in the battle, it will not draw fate cards or count its strength.
Q: What happens when an attacking Pegasus Rider uses his special ability to route a
Berserker who is also using its special ability?
FAQ-A: Even though they are both the same initiative, the attacker’s ability is resolved first. Any routed berserkers may not use their special ability (which requires them to be standing).
This conflicts sometimes with the idea that "All drawn cards will be resolved". So here's what we are doing now, and we'd like to know if we're doing this right (it seems to have worked out okay for us so far).
1) The attacker draws all cards for a single type of initiative 1 unit. If the defender has an initiative 1 unit, the defender also draws for 1 type of unit. The defender then places 1 card under each of his units for which he just drew.
2) The attacker resolves specials. Should a special rout or destroy one of the units the defender has yet to reveal cards for, that unit and card are removed or tilted on it's side (routed). This resolves both of the questions and answers cited above (the sorc's ability, etc.).
3) The defender resolves any specials.
4) The attacker resolves routs. Again, should a defender whose card has yet to be revealed be routed, the card is removed and the unit routed.
5) The defender resolves routs.
6) The attacker reveals any "whiffs" and damage, as does the defender. Both are resolved.
This process is repeated for other 1's and then for initiatives 2-5.
This is about as clear as we've been able to make out the conflicting rules. It seems clear that should any specials be triggered for the attackers that might remove a defender who has drawn, the defender doesn't get to resolve his attack. Is this how everyone else is reading this?
Thanks much in advance.