6 minutes ago, Nytwyng said:
Yes. In order for these qualities to inflict additional damage, they first must be involved in a successful attack roll. A successful attack roll is defined in the book as shown in the image I posted previously.
This does not alter the fact that armor with a Defense rating adds one or more Setback die/dice to the dice pool, which can impact whether or not the attack roll succeeds or fails. Which leads us to...
You’re getting sooooo close to a lightbulb moment. Of course armor doesn’t make attacks magically ever off. But, by insisting that all failed attack rolls absolutely, positively cannot, under any circumstances, make contact with their target, how, exactly, do you account for failed attack rolls due to failures on the Setback die/dice added because of armor’s Defense rating? That sounds a lot like insisting that the armor created some sort of “field” around the wearer that influences the incoming attack, causing it to miss.
The rules say that a hit requires a Successful Combat Check . It says this in the weapon qualities I mentioned above, along with others, it says it in the rule regarding Base Damage on page 165. A “hit” is a type of Success, a failed Combat Check cannot hit. A failed Combat Check is a miss . That is RAW.