Buzz Droids

By Croste, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If you position a ship with Buzz droids placed on the front of a ship base to force the buzz droids onto an Asteroid or Debree, can you force a repositioning to the back of the ship base or even destroy the buzz droids?

The rules state that if you get it to partially be off the map it flees, but I see nothing to try and use other effects to shake it off.

Yes, that is exactly what the clause about it being unable to reposition to your front is for. If you block its position to the front, it moves to the back, and detaches when you next move, because nothing triggers it to reposition.

If you barrel roll or decloak, it also detaches, because nothing makes it follow those movements.

When being placed for repositioning, they cannot overlap any object. No obstacles, no ships, no mines, no bombs, not even other remotes or other buzz droids. Nothing. If anything is blocking the front placement, your only other option is the rear. If that also happened to be blocked, then the swarm is destroyed.

For clarity on the decloak part, decloaking to either side (like a barrel roll) will shake "attached" buzz droids, decloaking forwards (like a boost) will keep them with the ship if they're in the forwards guide of the ship before the decloak is performed.

I'm talking after it is attached. Could you park your ship, which has Buzz droids attached in front of an Asteroid, with the droids overlapping said asteroid, forcing the droid to reposition.

Probably not since I don't see it in the rules for remotes. But this would be a nice errata to the rules.

Edited by Croste

The droids don't move with the ship per se. The buzz droid owner attaches them to the front of the ship so that when that ship executes a maneuver, it moves through the buzz droids and therefore they re-attach at the end of the maneuver.

After the maneuver is executed, if there's no room to fit the droids on the front guides, they go on the back guides instead. If there's no room on either set of guides they are destroyed per the card.

EDIT - it's important to make clear that the buzz droids don't "stick" to a ship; they attach if you move through/overlap them, but then they just sit in that spot unless you move through/overlap them again (this is why people place them on the front guides whenever possible). Executing a barrel roll is enough to detach yourself from them; forcing them onto your rear guides and then either boosting or executing another maneuver also works.

Edited by Maui.
12 hours ago, Maui. said:

it's important to make clear that the buzz droids don't "stick" to a ship; they attach if you move through/overlap them, but then they just sit in that spot unless you move through/overlap them again (this is why people place them on the front guides whenever possible)

To add to this statement, the placement on the front or rear is up to the owners discretion (owner of the buzz droids). 99% of the time, this will be the front guides. However, there may be a few times you may prefer to place them on the rear. IE ships that can reverse and you want to try to stop (or know they really want to reverse) or you know a U-wing is going to 180 and want to make them reconsider it.

Important thing is, its not *required* to go to the front guides first, or at all. Its just usually the most advantageous.

32 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

To add to this statement, the placement on the front or rear is up to the owners discretion (owner of the buzz droids). 99% of the time, this will be the front guides. However, there may be a few times you may prefer to place them on the rear. IE ships that can reverse and you want to try to stop (or know they really want to reverse) or you know a U-wing is going to 180 and want to make them reconsider it.

Important thing is, its not *required* to go to the front guides first, or at all. Its just usually the most advantageous.

Or you just want it to fall off/position it appropriately so that it can glom onto something else.

On 1/3/2020 at 6:44 PM, Lyianx said:

When being placed for repositioning, they cannot overlap any object. No obstacles, no ships, no mines, no bombs, not even other remotes or other buzz droids. Nothing. If anything is blocking the front placement, your only other option is the rear. If that also happened to be blocked, then the swarm is destroyed.

At the UKSO, my opponent said that, because his ships ignored the template, it could be be placed on my front guides even though one of his own ships blocked the placement.

I was onto a hiding by that point, so wasnt worth a judge call, lol.

A quick ask round my mates after, they played it as you say, to be on the safe side, but didn't have any reference. I've not found anything, but I'm not sure where to look. Wouldn't mind an official pointer for future ref, if there is one?

20 minutes ago, Cuz05 said:

At the UKSO, my opponent said that, because his ships ignored the template, it could be be placed on my front guides even though one of his own ships blocked the placement.

I was onto a hiding by that point, so wasnt worth a judge call, lol.

A quick ask round my mates after, they played it as you say, to be on the safe side, but didn't have any reference. I've not found anything, but I'm not sure where to look. Wouldn't mind an official pointer for future ref, if there is one?

From the Buzz Droid rules, "The swarm cannot be aligned to a set of the ship's guides if doing so would cause it to overlap an object."

From the rules reference, "Ships, obstacles, and devices are all objects."

Those rules make it very clear that the Buzz Droids cannot be placed overlapping a ship, and since there is no rule stating that buzz droids ignore friendly ships, you cannot place them overlapping a friendly ship.

18 minutes ago, Cuz05 said:

At the UKSO, my opponent said that, because his ships ignored the template, it could be be placed on my front guides even though one of his own ships blocked the placement.

I was onto a hiding by that point, so wasnt worth a judge call, lol.

A quick ask round my mates after, they played it as you say, to be on the safe side, but didn't have any reference. I've not found anything, but I'm not sure where to look. Wouldn't mind an official pointer for future ref, if there is one?

🤨 😣 😤 That cheating piece of ******* ****...

Pay attention to the second sentence on the actual Buzz Droids card:

Remote BuzzDroidSwarm

Noticed that "friendly objects" ARE NOT excluded? 😤

Object definition (RR Page 14, Bolded and underlined the important section):

"OBJECTS
Ships, obstacles, and devices are all objects. The exact position of objects in the play area is tracked and restricted by game effects."

Buzz Droids themselves DO NOT ignore friendly ships or devices (including other remotes) when they check to see if there is space for them to be placed.

Thanks and thanks.

It is a lot of words :D

I made this a little ways back... it pretty much covers any situation where a buzz droid would move (outside of the weird edge case of "can I force the droids to flee the battlefield")

unknown.png

2 hours ago, Cuz05 said:

At the UKSO, my opponent said that, because his ships ignored the template , it could be be placed on my front guides even though one of his own ships blocked the placement.

I was onto a hiding by that point, so wasnt worth a judge call, lol.

A quick ask round my mates after, they played it as you say, to be on the safe side, but didn't have any reference. I've not found anything, but I'm not sure where to look. Wouldn't mind an official pointer for future ref, if there is one?

The subject has been put to bed pretty much (your opponent was wrong) but I think there's something worth noting: Separatist ships *don't* ignore the Buzz Droids template in any way. It doesn't have any effect, since they only trigger when an enemy overlaps or moves through them, but neither the buzz droids nor ships friendly to them actually ignore one another.

This isn't that important, but I think it's potentially useful to understand the source of the faulty reasoning. There's a difference between an "ignore" effect, and something which doesn't matter.

Will buzz droids ‘stick’ if a U wing does a red stop and rotate, lets say 90 degrees? Where to place the droid?

11 minutes ago, Slade said:

Will buzz droids ‘stick’ if a U wing does a red stop and rotate, lets say 90 degrees? Where to place the droid?

The buzz droids don't relocate in that instance and would be in the same spot on the map as they were before the U-Wing rotated. I think they may be still at range 0 of the U-Wing for that engagement phase but the U-Wing would be able to move away without overlapping or moving through the Buzz Droids with a straight or bank/turn away from the position of the droids in the next activation phase.

Also of note more than one ship can be at range 0 of a buzz droid.

Enemy ship a moves and overlaps buzz droid. Place droid front or back. Friendly ship moves and overlaps buzz droid and or bumps enemy ship at the same time. Buzz droid is not moved.

at ini 0 buzz droid causes one crit to both the enemy and friendly ship.

Placement of the buzz droid's matter as you do not want to self inflict damage.

14 minutes ago, Cpt.Kirk006 said:

at ini 0 buzz droid causes one crit to both the enemy and friendly ship.

Placement of the buzz droid's matter as you do not want to self inflict damage.

... The card says "each enemy ship at ... suffers..." so no damage to friendly ships.

37 minutes ago, Smuggler said:

... The card says "each enemy ship at ... suffers..." so no damage to friendly ships.

@Smuggler

Why thank you for correcting me I read right past that one crucial word "enemy"

It it possible to have more than one enemy at range 0 though ?

2 hours ago, Ximatique said:

It it possible to have more than one enemy at range 0 though ?

Highly improbable, but not impossible. I had such a difficulty when I first started using Buzz Droids, because I didn't realize that they kept relocating as enemy ships bumped into one another while still overlapping the droids. I think the most likely situation is that the Buzz Droids will damage a single enemy ship, but may be overlapped by a friendly ship as well. Because they automatically relocate, the "if they can't be placed or relocated" clause kicks in.

3 hours ago, Ximatique said:

It it possible to have more than one enemy at range 0 though ?

no. a ship can move in such a way that it ends up at range 0 of another ship without overlapping (bumping). this is not the case with devices or obstacles, though. unless you overlap, you are not at range 0. if you overlap, the buzz droids need to relocate. they cannot overlap while relocating. if they do not fit anywhere, they suffer one damage and are destroyed.

Edited by meffo

Sorry if this has been answered before.

If I launch a discord missile and the 3-template overlaps the enemy ship, but the actual buzz droid token placed at the end of the template does not, could I still attach the buzz droids to that enemy ship?

5 hours ago, meffo said:

no. a ship can move in such a way that it ends up at range 0 of another ship without overlapping (bumping). this is not the case with devices or obstacles, though. unless you overlap, you are not at range 0. if you overlap, the buzz droids need to relocate. they cannot overlap while relocating. if they do not fit anywhere, they suffer one damage and are destroyed.

For all intents and purposes, this is correct, except in the very unlikely situation when an enemy ship perfectly lands at Range 0 of the Buzz Droids, without overlapping (technically JUST nudging against the side of the base). This circumstance is covered in the Rules Reference, for Ships... it makes sense that it would also apply to Remotes.

While the chances of executing a maneuver that touches (but does not overlap) the Buzz Droids remote are extremely low, it is a non-zero number. There's also the possibility of a Buzz Droid being forced to relocate, and in so doing, can take advantage of the half millimeter of "wiggle room" in fitting within the ship guides to JUST kiss the edge of another ship base: By definition, Range 0 without overlapping.

Rulebook, page 4, Measuring Range (including the typo):

"Two objects (ships, obstacles, devices) that are touching are at range 0 or each other. Likewise, an object is at range 0 of itself."

Edited by Hiemfire