Struts and obstacles

By Slade, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I’m not sure we are playing droids and their ‘struts’ correctly when encountering obstacles.

My question is - I have a Vulture with Struts ‘open’ overlapping a rock when I reveal a 2 straight forward bearing for the round. This maneuver brings my Vulture onto another rock – I assume I:

-

- I do close my Struts (flip the card) at the end of all of that since I executed a maneuver

- And I cannot attack this round … but

- Can I take an action? For instance to barrel roll of the rock and gain a ‘linked’ calculate token for a stress?

Similar question but what happens if I end up overlapping a Debris after I execute my 2 straight forward bearing? As with the rock I assume

- I do not role a die

- Do not gain a stress due to the debris

- Close my Struts (flip the card) after all of this

- And can attack … but

- Can I also take an action, for instance to take a focus while overlapping the debris?

Thx. for help.

Here's the card for reference:

th?id=OIP.UEq8Dg_Xa_7CVUAqUPMi6wHaDE&pid

First off, you are assuming that Struts function at all: RAW you can never 'land' w/ open struts because the trigger to close Struts is after the trigger to open them. ( Please go to that thread to debate that point so we don't derail this thread ) Because we are already playing RAI just to get them functioning at all I have not objected to my opponents rock-hopping and landing on the new rock keeping struts open.

If you insist on following Struts Open to the letter... you are correct that you will be forced to flip to Struts Closed after the maneuver. Importantly though you have already ignored the 'during maneuver' effects of obstacles so you will not skip your Perform action step or gain stress due to the obstacle you are at range 0 of. Note that you can only barrel roll off if the template does not touch the obstacle; this applies equally to asteroids and debris fields.

22 hours ago, nitrobenz said:

If you insist on following Struts Open to the letter... you are correct that you will be forced to flip to Struts Closed after the maneuver. Importantly though you have already ignored the 'during maneuver' effects of obstacles so you will not skip your Perform action step or gain stress due to the obstacle you are at range 0 of. Note that you can only barrel roll off if the template does not touch the obstacle; this applies equally to asteroids and debris fields.

Thx. for the link, I'll have look at that one and I forgot about the barrel roll limitation whiel touching the obstacle

On 12/21/2019 at 10:11 AM, nitrobenz said:

Note that you can only barrel roll off if the template does not touch the obstacle; this applies equally to asteroids and debris fields.

that is not an agreed upon statement, though. last tournament i went to, the marshal ruled that you can in fact barrel roll over obstacles with struts open, since you ignore obstacles while you move through them. there has been some debate on this subject and it is not clear.


i'm still on the side of that it's fine actually. seems intended. it's the same for qi'ra and boosting on top of obstacles that you're locking. the interaction has been ruled differently in different tournaments, which is not a good thing. need clarification.

If you ignore the obstacle then you can 100% barrel roll over it.

3 hours ago, meffo said:

that is not an agreed upon statement, though. last tournament i went to, the marshal ruled that you can in fact barrel roll over obstacles with struts open, since you ignore obstacles while you move through them. there has been some debate on this subject and it is not clear.

100% you can barrel roll regardless of passing through if you have struts open. The note you have quoted is in relation to if your vulture rock-hops and ends up on an Asteroid with struts closed, in which case you are not ignoring the obstacle and are limited in the same way as a typical ship.

@Slade to clarify. Just in case you misunderstood the note as well.

Edited by nitrobenz
Tagged Slade
2 minutes ago, nitrobenz said:

100% you can barrel roll regardless of passing through if you have struts open. The note you have quoted is in relation to if your vulture rock-hops and ends up on an Asteroid with struts closed, in which case you are not ignoring the obstacle and are limited in the same way as a typical ship.

very true. i'm dumb. thank you!

1 minute ago, meffo said:

very true. i'm dumb. thank you!

No worries, I know I'm not always as clear as I think I am. Turns out communicating solely by text is hard, which is why that's not my day-job!