Silly Hondo Question

By Miles C, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

This may seem like a silly question, but I’m going to ask it anyway.

Can Hondo Ohnaka Slave I use his ability to move himself?

Here are the rules:
"During your activation, instead of attacking, you may toggle the activation slider of 1 squadron at distance 1 to the activated side. If it was already activated, you may place it anywhere at distance 1 of you."

He is at range 1 of himself right? Thus, he can target himself. It’s during his activation, so his slider should already be on the activated side right? Thus, making him a candidate to move.

Like I said, seems silly, but I’m curious what people think.

Technically I think that he can use the effect on himself but it won't have any effect. That's because for a normal activation, the activation slider is toggled at the end of it, not at the beggining:

RRG page 12: "After a squadron activates, toggle its activation slider to track that it has activated."

So, it will be Hondo's turn to activate. During it's activation you choose to use his abbility to toggle the activation slider of yourself. Congratulations, you're now activated 😁 and that's the end of your activation.

Thanks!

2 hours ago, Miles C said:

This may seem like a silly question, but I’m going to ask it anyway.

Can Hondo Ohnaka Slave I use his ability to move himself?

Here are the rules:
"During your activation, instead of attacking, you may toggle the activation slider of 1 squadron at distance 1 to the activated side. If it was already activated, you may place it anywhere at distance 1 of you."

He is at range 1 of himself right? Thus, he can target himself. It’s during his activation, so his slider should already be on the activated side right? Thus, making him a candidate to move.

Like I said, seems silly, but I’m curious what people think.

After a squadron activates, toggle its activation slider to track that it has activated.

ANSWER: nope

1 hour ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

Congratulations, you're now activated 😁 and that's the end of your activation.

That's not completely true. It may move if he doesn't move yet as per flechette torpedoes, toggling the activation slider does not end the squadron activation.