Hans confusing ability

By thebigeb2589, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So after much forum searching I've learned that Hans poorly written ability is as confusing to me as it is to others. I played 1.0 for its entirety so I'm no stranger to the subtle if then exchanges that happen with card wording. I'm just now getting into 2.0 so if this question has specifically been answered in the past I apologize.....

My question is this. Can Han shoot, reroll his dice using his ability, then reroll with a target lock since his first reroll doesn't count as a reroll for game purposes?

I think the answer is yes but I'm just double checking.

Card for reference:

340?cb=20180913204219

Short answer to the question asked is Yes :)

It has been generally ruled and accepted that the very specific wording that "This does not count as rerolling..." Means these dice can be both Han'd and rerolled by another method such as spending a lock.

Interesting note... if Han Solo is near an obstacle, and has a target lock, but is also locked by an enemy ship with M9-G8, how do you handle the "can't reroll a die twice" rule? Do you just assign one of the dice as the "Already re-rolled" die before using Han? Or in other words:

  1. Han rolls attack dice (A, B, C)
  2. Defender modifies first, re-rolling 1 attack die (A)
  3. Han uses his ability to re-rolls the previously re-rolled die (A), and re-roll the other dice (B, C) separately
  4. Han may modify the dice further, as desired (except he can't re-roll die A again)

latest?cb=20181025031930

That does sound about correct @emeraldbeacon . Unlikely to occur, but correct :)