Aquire to linked action

By Ccwebb, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Im sure this has been asked before, but can an ‘acquire’ lead to a linked action?

Example I am working with is Targeting Battery and Bombardment Specialist.
latest?cb=20191002214045 latest?cb=20191002212855

No:

„If an ability instructs a ship to acquire a lock, this is different than performing a [lock] action.“

1 hour ago, Singulativ said:

No:

„If an ability instructs a ship to acquire a lock, this is different than performing a [lock] action.“

Rules Reference, pg 13

Quote

If an ability instructs a ship to acquire a lock, this is different than performing a [lock] action. A ship that acquires a lock without performing the action can still perform the [lock] action this round.

1 hour ago, Singulativ said:

No:

„If an ability instructs a ship to acquire a lock, this is different than performing a [lock] action.“

Precisely this.

Since you are not actually performing a Lock action , you can't link from it. This is why, for example, Dutch Vander with R3 Astromech can only give away one free lock per round: his ability only triggers after performing the lock action , not merely after acquiring a lock. Similarly, if Dutch lets a friendly ship with R3 acquire a lock, it only gets one lock; because the targetted ship is only acquiring, rather than performing the action, the droid's ability doesn't come into effect.

latest?cb=20180618164616 Card_Upgrade_54.png

Awesome. Thank y’all much.

.....

follow up question:

what about linked action with another card ability. Ie: Targeting Battery and C3PO? latest?cb=20190828203717

14 minutes ago, Ccwebb said:

.....

follow up question:

what about linked action with another card ability. Ie: Targeting Battery and C3PO? latest?cb=20190828203717

works 100%. C-3PO:s second ability works after you perform a calculate action, no matter where you get that action from or when you perform it.

works with bombardment specialists, that is.

Edited by meffo
misread!

I don't see how Targeting Battery and C-3PO interact?

If you're referring to Bombardment Specialists: C-3PO doesn't where the calculate action comes from. If you perform that action, you gain an additional calculate token. So a ship with Bombardment Specialists and C-3PO can absolutely link a lock action into a calculate action and gain a second calculate token from C-3PO.