A local player recently asked a questions for which I thought there was an obvious answer:
"Can the M3-A equip Barrage Rockets?"
Obviously not, I thought. The M3-A ship ability allows you to equip a [missile] upgrade, but Barrage Rockets are a [missile] [missile] upgrade. These are not the same, so things that refer to [missile] do not apply to things that are [missile] [missile]. Right?
He responded with a stumper "Captain Jonus also uses a single symbol and therefore couldn't re-roll Barrage Rockets with that logic."
Hmm, good point.
We have all been playing as though M3-A Interceptors cannot equip BR, because of the number of symbols. We have also been playing as though Captain Jonus' ability does work with Barrage Rockets, without ever being bothered by the number of symbols in the text of Jonus' ability.
Is there something in the Rules Reference that could settle the key question: do [missile] [missile] upgrades allow [missile] attacks, or are are those considered [missile] [missile] attacks?
Edited by matt.sucharski
and
upgrades. They are not 100% equivalent. But both are subsets of
A