Droid Struts and Wings

By Bort, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If a Droid wing leader with Grappling Struts clamps onto a small asteroid (ie more than one wingmen doesn't overlap the asteroid) it still works right?

You rotate and the wing just goes with you?

Or it doesn't work because the wing leader skips the Execute Maneuver step?

Edited by Bort

Its not entirly clear at this point if wingmates cant trigger effects that happen "While you execute a maneuver", so im not sure if the wingmate droids struts would trigger open if one of them also hit the rock.

If it does, you run into another issue. If its open, the only way to keep that wingmate in formation, is to not rotate, otherwise you will cause it to force split from the wing.

If the Wing Leader has the struts, I see nothing in the rules saying it does not work.

When on the obstacle, Wing leader activate, reveal his maneuver, skip the execution, rotate or not, perform his action step.
After the Wing leader activation, each wingmate activate and is placed in formation.

As Lyianx said, if this is a wingmate that has the struts, I don't think they work since the wingmate never really execute the maneuver and thus can't trigger the struts.
Only effects that trigger "After executing a maneuver" can work on the wingmates.

Remember, a droid with open struts SKIPS the execute maneuver step. What this means for a wing is unclear at best... theoretically, since the leader never executed a maneuver, its wingmates can do nothing: They neither break formation nor move, and since they don't, they also don't get an action? They just kind of sit in space and wait for the engagement phase?

Wings are weird. :D

FFG-X-Wing-Servants-of-Strife-8.png

7 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Remember, a droid with open struts SKIPS the execute maneuver step. What this means for a wing is unclear at best... theoretically, since the leader never executed a maneuver, its wingmates can do nothing: They neither break formation nor move, and since they don't, they also don't get an action? They just kind of sit in space and wait for the engagement phase?

Wings are weird. :D

FFG-X-Wing-Servants-of-Strife-8.png

Yup, hence me asking in the first place. :)

13 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Remember, a droid with open struts SKIPS the execute maneuver step.

...If the revealed maneuver is something other than a 2 straight, yes.

13 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

since the leader never executed a maneuver, its wingmates can do nothing:

Wingmates do not care if the leader actually executed the maneuver or not. All they care about is the leaders current position, his dial and if he activated. All of which even an open strut droid would have.

Quote

1. After a wing leader has activated, each of its wingmates activates in ascending order

2. When a wingmate moves as part of its activation, its player uses a wing tool to place the ship into the same wing position within the formation relative to its wing leader.

3. Before it moves, a wingmate is treated as revealing the same dial as the wing leader’s dial.

4. After it is placed in formation, a wingmate is treated as having fully executed the maneuver on the wing leader’s dial.

So yea, even if the leader doesn't move, the wingmates still do something.

Reading through the rules I think @Lyianx has it right. Per the already quoted lines from p5 of the Epic Battles Rules Reference (1.0.6) under Activation Phase , a wing leader activates (but not required to move) and the the Wingmates snap to their new position.

One quirk of this is that the Wingmates are required to activate in ascending order (also from p5) which means you will lose one of your flanks because of them self bumping the support positions, and them being forced to split. When this happens it will have to execute the maneuver shown on the Leader's dial even though the Leader stayed back on the rock, so dial carefully when you want to rotate your Wing Leader.

On 12/10/2019 at 11:46 AM, nitrobenz said:

O ne quirk of this is that the Wingmates are required to activate in ascending order (also from p5) which means you will lose one of your flanks because of them self bumping the support positions, and them being forced to split. When this happens it will have to execute the maneuver shown on the Leader's dial even though the Leader stayed back on the rock, so dial carefully when you want to rotate your Wing Leader.

Interesting. In other words, "Kids, don't try this at home unless your vulture wing has only three ships." That way the wing leader is free to rotate either direction 90 degrees, and the wingmates will slot right into place.

At least for now. I hope we get more clarification about wing leader shenanigans come January.