Huge ships and Precision Shot Crits

By Bort, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Ok, so as far as I understand the location of the Attacking enemy ship relative to the Defender is what's used to determine if the Precision Shot part of a Huge ship crit is applied.

So last night we had this come up.

Smaller2.jpg.03c955ed2bc1903f654024ab7d21ef75.jpg

The C-ROC was shooting at the raider. I was using a front arc attack, and the shot hits the Raider in the front arc (closest to closest point)

We then flipped a crit (can't recall exact one) that requires me to be in the side arc of the huge ship for the Precision shot part.

So 2 questions:

1) I claimed that even though I'm hitting the front arc, I'm still in the side arc of the Raider. (Just barely made the range 3, but range wasn't really the issue). Unlike reinforce which states that the attacker can't cross the line and must be completely in front or behind for the reinforce to count, precision shot only says it has to be in the specified arc. Did I get it right?

My argument was pretty much, if the Raider had a weapon (turret or whatever) that was pointing to the side, it would have been able to hit me, so I'm in its side arc. The precision shot mechanic is actually quite counter intuitive now that I have used it. It works, it was just working the other way around than I imagine it.

2) How is this applied when huge ships are shooting at each other at range 4 or 5. Before you discount my question as obvious think about it a bit.

Say the attacker has a range 4 or 5 shot. So, rules ref p30 helps:

"Attack Range 4–5
Unlike standard ships, huge ships can sometimes perform attacks at range 4–5. Some special weapons and abilities can extend a huge ship’s firing arcs to range 4 or 5 while a weapon with that range requirement occupies that arc
or that ability is active."

Now this applies to the attacker right. But precision shot cares about the arc of the defender (like I say, counter intuitive) not the attacker. So if the defender doesn't have a range 4-5 weapon in the arc where the shot comes from, can the precision shot be applied?

I would really argue that it does. But it made me wonder and I could see people arguing RAW to avoid a crit.

Edited by Bort

1)

The rules to the precision effect indeed state that the attacker needs to be in the specified arc. A ship can be in multiple arcs, e.g. in the attached picture from the RR the TIE/ln is in the front and side arc:

Quote

While a huge ship defends, if it is dealt a faceup damage card, resolve the precision shot effect only if the attacker is in the specifed arc of the defending huge ship: side arc, full front arc, full rear arc, or bullseye arc.

2)

This also seems to be correct, without a range 4-5 weapon your range band does not extend beyond 3 and thererfore no one can be in that arc:

Quote

Some special weapons and abilities can extend a huge ship’s fring arcs to range 4 or 5 while a weapon with that range requirement occupies that arc or that ability is active

Propably better would have been a wording like:

Quote

While a huge ship defends, if it is dealt a faceup damage card, resolve the precision shot effect only if the closest point of the target ship is in the specifed arc: side arc, full front arc, full rear arc, or bullseye arc.

Example.png