Composure, Afterburners and Paying costs

By Harlaan, in X-Wing Rules Questions

We all know the composure+afterburners combo to get a focus twice a game. Does it actually work though? From the RR:

Paying Costs

A ship can pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved.

For example, GNK “Gonk” Droid’s ability says “Action: Spend 1 charge to recover 1 shield.” The ship cannot spend the charge if it has no inactive shields.

So if you fail the afterburners action, is the effect resolved or not? Because if it's not, then you can't spend the charge and use composure. What am I getting wrong?

For further reference:

Afterburners

After you fully execute a speed 3-5 maneuver, you may spend 1 charge to perform a boost action, even while stressed.

Composure

After you fail an action, if you have no green tokens, you may perform a focus action.

X wing official rulings

Q: Which effects are abilities?

A: An ability is text from a card a player controls (such a ship card, upgrade card, damage card, remote card, device, condition card, etc).

Q: When is the cost for an ability paid?

A: The cost for an ability is paid when the ability is resolved.

An ability cannot be added to the queue if its cost could not be paid at the time it is added.

If an ability's cost cannot be paid when it would be resolved from the queue, the ability is not resolved and is instead removed from the queue. The ability's cost is not paid.

Misread the question.

Edited by Singulativ

.

Edited by Harlaan
Not relevant anymore
1 minute ago, Harlaan said:

I'm sorry, I wasn't very clear. What i meant was that, since AB has two charges, in two different rounds you can get a focus action in addition to you regular action

Yaeh, figured that a bit too late out...

Quote

So if you fail the afterburners action, is the effect resolved or not? Because if it's not, then you can't spend the charge and use composure. What am I getting wrong?

You spend the charge for Afterburner first (requirement) to perform the boost action. The boost action is "performed" whatever the outcome (successful or failure ).

If you fail this boost action (conditions stated at boost action) you can chain the ability of Composure to this failure of an action and perform your focus action.

Thank you, I didn't know that the effect is considered resolved even if the action fails

Yep. That's the key thing to understanding how failing actions works. "Some effects can fail, which means the effect did not resolve as intended and instead is resolved in a default way ." (RR 1.06, p.11) The action still happens, it just happens differently .

I am confused so after you use afterburners and do a boost action can you then do your regular action And if you can then after you fail afterburners boost and do a focus action can you then do your regular action

2 minutes ago, wsmith32 said:

I am confused so after you use afterburners and do a boost action can you then do your regular action And if you can then after you fail afterburners boost and do a focus action can you then do your regular action

Yes.

The critical point is that this lets you Focus AND do something else with your regular action.

It's particularly useful for TIE/X1s, which desperately want to Focus and Lock in the opening engagement.

next question lets say u do red move get stress but you can use afterburners while stressed if you fail afterburners can you then use composure

Just now, wsmith32 said:

next question lets say u do red move get stress but you can use afterburners while stressed if you fail afterburners can you then use composure

No. You need a specific exception to the normal rules to allow this; Afterburners has one which lets you boost, Composure, doesn't, so no Focus.

11 minutes ago, wsmith32 said:

next question lets say u do red move get stress but you can use afterburners while stressed if you fail afterburners can you then use composure

Technically you can still trigger Composure but you cannot perform the granted focus action while being stressed.

Edited by Singulativ
On 12/1/2019 at 6:32 AM, Harlaan said:

We all know the composure+afterburners combo to get a focus twice a game

Do we? How does that work exactly? Composure lets you perform the action, not grant you a token, so you are still limited to the One focus action per turn restriction.

38 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

Do we? How does that work exactly? Composure lets you perform the action, not grant you a token, so you are still limited to the One focus action per turn restriction.

I was going to ask the same thing. Firstly Composure gives you the focus action not gains a focus token. You don't get another focus action in your action step.

Most linked actions are going to give you a stress token removing your ability to perform an action in the action step. You also used up your boost action on the Afterburners. Focus linked to what exactly on which ships?

Most ships that can take Afterburners do not link focus to another action. Both X-wings with closed S-foils and TIE X1s right? And T-65-s link the focus to boost.

This doesn't work on Rebel A-wings as their free action after an action ability is a boost. Resistance A-wings only can get you a rotate after the composure focus action.

It's a trick used by non-Vader TIE/x1s (particularly Maarek Steele). Fail the Afterburners boost for a focus action, then take a lock for your normal action, for double mods on the first shot.

23 minutes ago, Maui. said:

It's a trick used by non-Vader TIE/x1s (particularly Maarek Steele). Fail the Afterburners boost for a focus action, then take a lock for your normal action, for double mods on the first shot.

That's not two focus tokens. That appears "fine" but seems unreliable since you have to fail the afterburners boost.

He said it's a trick to gain a free focus token twice per game, not twice per round.

44 minutes ago, Maui. said:

He said it's a trick to gain a free focus token twice per game, not twice per round.

ah. so he did.. guess i glazed over 'game' and assumed it was round.