Daredevil reponse + consequential damage.

By Shindulus, in Marvel Champions: The Card Game

Daredevil card text is :

Response : After Daredevil thwarts , deal 1 damage to an enemy.

Part of CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGE definition is :

After an ally thwarts , it takes consequential damage equal to the number of pips beneath its THW field.

I am almost sure that when there is only 1 life remaining on Daredevil he can't use his response. How can I justify that by the rules unless I say consequantial damages are not optional ?

I can't seem to find anything that puts a timing priority on framework effects vs. triggered abilities, but generally abilities go before framework effects. Even if they don't that would leave it simultaneous and up to you for which to resolve first.

According to their verbage they occur in the same window. I would assume you choose the order unless the rules state differently

1 hour ago, Tarliyn said:

According to their verbage they occur in the same window. I would assume you choose the order unless the rules state differently

Also, they break down the use of an ally in the learn to play, and the very last step is the consequential damage.

Yes, the ruling given before for Tigra (her heal occurs before the consequential damage is applied) indicates that Consequential damage is the very last step in the sequence, so Daredevil’s ability would resolve first.

Learn to play, pg 12, using an ally. Step 4 is resolve the attack/thwart. Step 5 is apply consequential damage.

So the response triggers after Step 4, but before Step 5.

Ok thank you.