RitR - Question about Ally Tokens

By Smokedgouda, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I kicked off my first Rebellion in the Rim Campaign this past weekend, and when reviewing the rules regarding Strategic Effect tokens, I came across the description of the Ally token and am unsure how to interpret the rule. The rules on spending an ally token read as follows from the campaign guide:

Quote

Ally: One player from each team may spend an ally token as described below.

  • During the Strategy Phase, after a player declares that they are assaulting or defending at a location.
  • At the end of each act, after a team chooses a pivotal battle. The assaulting team chooses whether to spend an ally token, then the defending team chooses.

My question lies at the quantity of tokens that may be spent. When you choose to spend an ally token, may you spend more than one to add even more ships/squadrons to your fleet for the battle, or may you only spend one ally token per battle? Since the rules say to "spend an ally token" rather than "spend up to one ally token," I feel the choice of words leads the answer to be unclear.

If I had to guess, I would think that you could only spend one token per battle to gain either the 45 fleet points worth of squadrons or a single ship worth up to 45 fleet points as doing so multiple times would tip the scales a bit too much. If anyone has an official ruling on this, sharing would be appreciated. No one in my group has claimed any ally tokens as of yet, but it will happen eventually.

Edited by Smokedgouda
Clarification of a sentence.

In the campaign I’m running, it’s one token per round, period. So one player gets one token. That’s it. I usually give the token to a player in a critical location.

I haven't played the campaign yet, but I must say I love your username! Smoked Gouda is my favorite cheese!

Every part of the rule states singular.

One player from each team may spend an ally token as described below.

Corollary research:

Are there other rules in the game where you may spend "an" something more than once, without it specifying an "up to" ?

I'm not thinking of any off the top of my head.

4 hours ago, Bertie Wooster said:

I haven't played the campaign yet, but I must say I love your username! Smoked Gouda is my favorite cheese!

I approve of this response. Thank you! 👍

8 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Every part of the rule states singular.

One player from each team may spend an ally token as described below.

Appreciate the clarification there. I also missed the fact that it says One player from each team. Staring me right in the face. I'll need to re-read the strategic effect tokens section of the guide again when I get home to make sure I interpret everything correctly for my group.