No drilling superweapon (a Composite Beam Turbo question)

By ovinomanc3r, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

swm33_superheavy-composite-beam-turbolas

+

From RRG: When a ship suffers damage and a hull zone isn’t specified, the ship’s owner chooses which hull zone suffers all of that damage.

So my guess is that each damage point suffered from this turbo count as a new instance for the purpose of chosing a hull zone to suffer the damage there. It wouldn't work as a drill am I right?

You interpret it the same way I do. If you roll 1 red crit and 2 blue crits, your opponent takes 1 damage, 3 times. Then they suffer the damage from the attack pool, which can be braced, redirected, etc...

Edited by RobertK

By the way it's written yes, it would be one at a time. If not it should just say something like "The defender suffers 1 damage for each red or blue crit" or something like that.

Edited by Lemmiwinks86
24 minutes ago, RobertK said:

You interpret it the same way I do. If you roll 1 red crit and 2 blue crits, your opponent takes 1 damage, 3 times. Then they suffer the damage from the attack pool, which can be braced, redirected, etc...

That's not how I read it. The extra damage comes from a critical effect. There is nothing defense tokes can do against that extra damage.

What I say is that per each extra damage the defender may choose a new hull zone to suffer that damage. It don't have to be dealt to the same hull zone.

39 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

That's not how I read it. The extra damage comes from a critical effect. There is nothing defense tokes can do against that extra damage.

What I say is that per each extra damage the defender may choose a new hull zone to suffer that damage. It don't have to be dealt to the same hull zone.

He’s talking about the damage from the attack itself after the crit is resolved.

You’re both right.

Edited by The Jabbawookie

Yes, because that damage is not totalled - it’s individual packets of 1 danage.

if you were to total that amount, then it would all hit one zone if the defenders choice, but the key word here is it “resolves” once for each crit, which makes it an individual distinction