I am a competitive (tournament) player and had never heard of this before, so a ruling from an official judge would be most welcome. I do not want to misrepresent the rules in the future.
I make an attack. (Results irrelevant)
My opponent rolls 3 defense dice resulting in all blanks.
I remind my opponent that they should have only rolled 2 defense dice because I have Outmaneuver and I am out of my target's arc.
My opponent then declares that , since he rolled the incorrect number of dice, that he must now make a new roll with 2 defense dice instead of 3.
I express that I do not believe the rules allow that, but my opponent insists. I relent because it's a friendly game and I will probably win regardless of the new result. In a tournament I would call a judge.
How would a tournament judge rule in this circumstance?
Thank You