Sear

By Slade, in X-Wing Rules Questions

The Sear ability has the text 'While a friendly ship at range 0-3 performs a primary attack, if the defender is in its bullseye, before the Neutralize Results step, the friendly ship may spend 1 calculate token to cancel 1 evade result.'

A Vulture has Networked Calculations which has the text ' While you defend or perform an attack, you may spend 1 calculate token from a friendly ship at range 0-1 to change 1 eyeball result to an evade or hit result.

When my Vulture does not have a calculate token can it spend a calculate token from a range 0-1 Hyena to trigger Sear's ability for the Vultures shot?

I guess above is correct and wanted to confirm. Thx.

Short answer: No, a ship may only spend its own calculate tokens for Sear's ability.

latest?cb=20190307203450 latest?cb=20190109165432

The way Networked Calculations works, you are able to spend other (nearby) ships' calculate tokens to modify results during combat, but only for the purposes described in the ability itself. Droids can share their tokens for generic combat use, but for fancy effects like launching Discord Missiles, or triggering Sear's ability, the ship needs to have its own token on hand to use the ability.

The problem is that Networked Calculation let‘s you spend a Calculate token „ to cha nge 1 eyeball result to an evade or hit result“.

It does not say that you can spend the Calculate token as if it were your own and therefore for any ability or effect you wish to use.

27 minutes ago, Slade said:

The Sear ability has the text 'While a friendly ship at range 0-3 performs a primary attack, if the defender is in its bullseye, before the Neutralize Results step, the friendly ship may spend 1 calculate token to cancel 1 evade result.'

A Vulture has Networked Calculations which has the text ' While you defend or perform an attack, you may spend 1 calculate token from a friendly ship at range 0-1 to change 1 eyeball result to an evade or hit result.

When my Vulture does not have a calculate token can it spend a calculate token from a range 0-1 Hyena to trigger Sear's ability for the Vultures shot?

I guess above is correct and wanted to confirm. Thx.

no. the networked calculations text clearly states what it does. you can spend 1 calculate token from a friendy ship at range 0-1 to change 1 (focus) result to an (evade) or (hit) result. this is also restricted by the once per opportunity rule, meaning you can only do it once every time you attack or defend.

captain sear's ability is not spending "1 calculate token from a friendy ship at range 0-1 to change 1 (focus) result to an (evade) or (hit) result.", thus you cannot spend other ships calculate tokens to use it.

Vulture_SD.png Belbullab_Sear.png

Ahhh. I played a sear swarm several times now and each time I learn something new.