Wings: Rejoining formation

By BanthaExpress, in X-Wing Epic Play

When a ship rejoins formation, does it need to return to its original position in the formation or can it assume any vacant position?

I suspect it has to return to its original station in the formation, based on the numbering of the ships according to their positions but it isn't stated explicitly.

Edited by BanthaExpress
Typo

The Joining rules state that the ship is placed "in its wing position"-- i.e. the one designated on the wing card you gave it. So, yes, its former position in the wing.

Thanks!

Thought so, but I fancied trying some airshow-style shenanigans! 😉

1 hour ago, BanthaExpress said:

Thanks!

Thought so, but I fancied trying some airshow-style shenanigans! 😉

The Airshow shenanigans happen when half the wing goes one way, and the leader goes another, and then they reform from vectors 180 apart.

3 hours ago, Rakaydos said:

The Airshow shenanigans happen when half the wing goes one way, and the leader goes another, and then they reform from vectors 180 apart.

True!

The since the conditions for the rejoin are only within range 1 of the leader and unstressed (initial position and facing otherwise irrelevant), some of the manoeuvres you'd actually require for the rejoin could potentially almost defy description! No wonder rejoining formation results in the joiner getting a stress token!