Timing: E Deploy/Nashta Pup/Engage

By JBFancourt, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Okay... soooo....

I have Bossk YV-666 with Nashta Pup Z docked. I’m the second player. Another I4 kills Bossk. Can I...

1) Shoot back with Bossk

2) Emergency Deploy Z

3) Shoot with Bossk Z

4) Remove YV-666

😁 😝

Actually does initiative order change anything? Because as soon as there’s another I4 ship on the board that hasn’t engaged, I order does not proceed.

Answer myself: yes it does matter because my ships have already engaged? OR can it still engage due to wording from E Deploy rules making an exception??

Edited by JBFancourt
Answerin’ myself

RR PG 10

If a carrier ship is destroyed, before the carrier is removed from the play area, any docked ships can emergency deploy from their carrier. A docked ship performs an emergency deploy similar to deploying, as described above, except the ship first suffers 1 (Crit) damage and after executing the maneuver, does not have the opportunity to perform an action.


• If the docked ship attempts to emergency deploy and must partially execute the maneuver but cannot be placed without overlapping another ship, the ship fails to deploy and is destroyed.


• If a ship emergency deploys during the Engagement Phase, it can still engage during that phase at its initiative. If its initiative has already occurred this round, it cannot engage this phase.

latest?cb=20180914123816

RR PG 9

DESTROYING SHIPS
A ship is destroyed after it has a number of damage cards that equals or exceeds its hull value. A destroyed ship is placed on its ship card.


• After a ship is destroyed in a phase other than the Engagement Phase, it is removed from the game.


• If a ship is destroyed during the Engagement Phase, it is removed after all ships that have the same initiative as the currently engaged ship have engaged, which is called simultaneous fire.


• If an effect triggers after a ship is destroyed, the effect resolves immediately before the ship is removed.


• A destroyed ship’s abilities remain active until that ship is removed unless the ability specifies a different timing for the effect to end, such as “until the end of the Engagement Phase.” Such effects remain active until the end of the specified time.

Edited by JBFancourt
1 hour ago, JBFancourt said:

Answer myself: yes it does matter because my ships have already engaged?

Correct

1 hour ago, JBFancourt said:

If a ship is destroyed during the Engagement Phase, it is removed after all ships that have the same initiative as the currently engaged ship have engaged, which is called simultaneous fire.

This means, the initiative has past and the pup cannot engage after deploying.

1 hour ago, JBFancourt said:

• If a ship is destroyed during the Engagement Phase, it is removed after all ships that have the same initiative as the currently engaged ship have engaged, which is called simultaneous fire.


• If an effect triggers after a ship is destroyed, the effect resolves immediately before the ship is removed.

This should be the relevant quotes:

The Ini 4 YV-666 get‘s destroyed during Initiative 4.

After all ships at Ini 4 have engaged the Ini 4 Pub emergency deploys and then the YV-666 is removed.

The next step is for Iniative 3 to engage.

On a similar note, if the YV-666 that Bossk was on has a deadman's switch, does that damage occur before or after the emergency deploy, or are they on the same timing so you can choose?

13 hours ago, Cerebrawl said:

On a similar note, if the YV-666 that Bossk was on has a deadman's switch, does that damage occur before or after the emergency deploy, or are they on the same timing so you can choose?

I would say...

Emergency Deploy is a Game Effect, while Deadman's Switch is a player ability. Therefore the deployment would always happen first.

But thats just my judgement.

29 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

I would say...

Emergency Deploy is a Game Effect, while Deadman's Switch is a player ability. Therefore the deployment would always happen first.

But thats just my judgement.

E deploy is actually a Player choice “can”. Technically you don’t have to deploy at all.

6 minutes ago, JBFancourt said:

E deploy is actually a Player choice “can”. Technically you don’t have to deploy at all.

Just because a player has a choice, doesn't exclusively make it a player ability.

Again tho, that's just how im reading "An ability is text from a card a player controls" which i don't see Nashtah Pub as an ability, but a restriction.

8 hours ago, Lyianx said:

I would say...

Emergency Deploy is a Game Effect, while Deadman's Switch is a player ability. Therefore the deployment would always happen first.

But thats just my judgement.

Answer when I asked on the wikia:

Emergency Deploy has the trigger: "If a carrier ship is destroyed, before the carrier is removed from the play area..."

Deadman's Switch has the trigger: "After you are destroyed..."

Destroyed on page 9 of the RR says "If an effect triggers after a ship is destroyed, the effect resolves immediately before the ship is removed."

Looks to me like they're the same timing, so you choose the order.

9 hours ago, Cerebrawl said:

Answer when I asked on the wikia:

Emergency Deploy has the trigger: "If a carrier ship is destroyed, before the carrier is removed from the play area..."

Deadman's Switch has the trigger: "After you are destroyed..."

Destroyed on page 9 of the RR says "If an effect triggers after a ship is destroyed, the effect resolves immediately before the ship is removed."

Looks to me like they're the same timing, so you choose the order.

That isnt the issue. The issue is if Emergency Deploy is a game effect, or player ability. If its a game effect, you do not get to choose, as it has to happen first.

From my viewpoint, since Emergency Deploy isnt printed on a ship, upgrade or damage card, its a game effect, thus, has to happen first.

1 minute ago, Lyianx said:

That isnt the issue. The issue is if Emergency Deploy is a game effect, or player ability. If its a game effect, you do not get to choose, as it has to happen first.

From my viewpoint, since Emergency Deploy isnt printed on a ship, upgrade or damage card, its a game effect, thus, has to happen first.

But whether or not I choose to deploy my Nashta pup is still an effect from my player cards in my opinion.

1 minute ago, JBFancourt said:

But whether or not I choose to deploy my Nashta pup is still an effect from my player cards in my opinion.

Which card says that?

From what ive seen, no card is telling you to E-deploy or saying "you may E-deploy". Sure its your option on if you want to E-deploy or not, but not *when*. Your ship is blowing up, decide now if you want to deploy, or die.

The ability to dock and deploy comes not from an inherent game effect, but from a card ability - specifically, the Hound's Tooth title. Nashtah Pup only creates a restriction on when you're allowed to deploy (only emergency deployment). Since deployment (even emergency deployment) is an optional ability, that is only ever made possible by a card ability (Hound's Tooth, Ghost , Lando's Millennium Falcon , etc), I feel that puts it into the category of player abilities, rather than game effects (which are, instead, mandatory effects triggered by specific events).

I agree that the question of Deadman's Switch and Emergency Deployment really does need to be clarified; as it stands, though, I favor the interpretation that the controlling player may choose the order of resolution for the abilities.

latest?cb=20180915002928