I have a rules query for those of a lawyerly bent, and wanted to check I’m not missing anything obvious before I send this anywhere more official.
The question regards an encounter card from Return to The Last King from the Return to the Path to Carcosa set. If you don’t wish to be spoiled, read no further!!!
Sure you want to continue? Good. So, La Comtesse is an enemy with the following effect;
Forced - After you defeat La Comtesse: Place her in your hand, as a hidden card. While La Comtesse is in your hand, she gains: "La Comtesse counts as 4 cards instead of 1 while checking your hand size. Forced - After you discard 1 or more cards from your hand during the upkeep phase: Take 1 horror."
My questions relates to how this interacts with Patricia Hathaway. Although it’s not a treachery, it is Hidden, and the rules for Hidden say that it cannot be discarded in any way apart from that detailed on the card itself. So, to my reading, there is no way to remove La Comtesse from your hand.
Here comes Patricia, if she were to defeat La Comtesse, her investigator ability means she has to discard her entire hand (except La Comtesse), take a horror, only be able to draw one card to make her up to her hand maximum of 5, and then have to do it all over again the next round. Does this mean that if Patricia is ever foolish enough to kill La Comtesse, she will be forced to take a horror every single round until the game ends or she goes insane?
Now, I was fortunate that this card didn’t come out early enough for me to have to deal with her at all, but it was an intriguing ‘what if?’ Have I got this right?