Adding ability to queue

By Boreas Mun, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Quote

After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a rotate action.

Quote

After you perform a spinning or boost action, you may choose a friendly ship at range 0-1.

There is a strange sentence in Official Rulings:

Quote

After a Nantex -class starfighter executes its maneuver, it has the option to add an ability in the queue with the effect of "gain 1 tractor token to perform a <rotate> action. When this ability resolves, the Nantex -class starfighter pays the cost ("gain 1 tractor token") to resolve this effect."

For me, it means that you choose if you want to resolve an effect of ability with the word 'may' when you add abilities to the queue.

But from Rules Reference:

Quote

Jake Farrell activates and performs a spinning is a good trick action. At this point, both his ship and pilot ability trigger. He chooses the order to add them to the ability queue, adding his pilot ability first, then his ship ability. While resolving his pilot ability, he can choose a friendly ship at range 0–1.

So here you add both abilities to the queue. You do not need to choose if you want to resolve the ability with the word 'may' when adding it to queue.

I want to know when you choose to resolve optional ability.

I'm not 100% sure what your question is. Are you asking when a player gets to choose whether or not to resolve an ability that is in the queue?

I thought an effect is "you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a <rotate> action " not "gain 1 tractor token to perform a <rotate> action ". Do you have to resolve an effect that you added to the queue?

Yes, you need to gain a tractor token in order to rotate the Nantex turret arc. The tractor and rotate are not two different abilities; it's one ability, so you resolve all of it or none. You can't rotate without gaining the tractor token, and you can't gain the tractor token without performing the rotate action.

But what happens when you add this ability to queue and there is some other ability which is resolved first, then you do not want to resolve your ability anymore. Do you need to gain tractor token to rotate or not?

1 hour ago, Boreas Mun said:

But what happens when you add this ability to queue and there is some other ability which is resolved first, then you do not want to resolve your ability anymore. Do you need to gain tractor token to rotate or not?

i'd do what the card says. it says "you may" - and so in my opinion it's optional. just like i think darth vader crew is optional. let's look at another post from the official ruling thread.

" Q: What is meant by a "requirement" for an ability?

A: A requirement for an ability is a conditional if-statement, such as "if you are tractored" or "if the defender is in your bullseye arc." A ship being in-arc at range for an attack made as part of a triggered ability, such as Snap Shot or Foresight, is also a requirement for that ability.

If an ability's requirements are not met at the time the ability would be added to the queue, it cannot be added to the queue.

If the ability's requirements are not met at the time the ability would be resolved from the queue, the ability is not resolved and is instead removed from the queue.

If an ability instructs you to make a choice, such as choosing a ship, that is not itself a requirement to initiate an ability."


as i interpret it, the last paragraph gives you a choice. this is consistent with the definition of the term "may" in the rules reference.

Capture.jpg

so i'm of the opinion that you can add the ability to the queue and when it comes to resolving it, you can still choose not to gain the tractor token. i don't, how ever, think everyone agrees. just look at the discussion on darth vader crew here:

Anecdotal reference. At the Louisville hyperspace trial it was ruled that the "MAY" was decided at the time that you put the ability into the queue. And that once you put an ability into the queue it must be resolved.

2 hours ago, Boreas Mun said:

But what happens when you add this ability to queue and there is some other ability which is resolved first, then you do not want to resolve your ability anymore. Do you need to gain tractor token to rotate or not?

There has been some debate on this (mostly from me, admittedly).

12 minutes ago, Squirl808 said:

Anecdotal reference. At the Louisville hyperspace trial it was ruled that the "MAY" was decided at the time that you put the ability into the queue. And that once you put an ability into the queue it must be resolved.

This was pretty much what i was saying is the possible definition of "may". I honestly dont know which way is the "right" way. I've even posted that question it FFG. They of course dont respond and will likely only answer the question if enough people ask it .

At this point, its something you'll need to discuss with your opponent/TO. But i think most people here (and on reddit) are on the @meffo side in that, its optional to add it to the queue, and optional to resolve it.