Turrets rules

By shodan1972, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Im new to the game and not quite sure how turrets works.

If i have a y-wing with dorsal turret and veteran tail gunner, does it mean i can attack 3 times in a round?

1- my primary, 2- the turret and 3 the tail gunner? Or is my turret my primary attack ?

Thank you and sorry about my english

You can make one attack (choose one from your card and equipped special weapons) and one bonus attack per ship per round.

2 hours ago, shodan1972 said:

Im new to the game and not quite sure how turrets works.

If i have a y-wing with dorsal turret and veteran tail gunner, does it mean i can attack 3 times in a round?

1- my primary, 2- the turret and 3 the tail gunner? Or is my turret my primary attack ?

Thank you and sorry about my english

welcome to the party!

if you have a y-wing with a dorsal turret, you have a secondary weapon that you can elect to use when you perform an attack. you normally get to attack when you engage during the engagement phase. the dorsal turret upgrade card has information on what it does and how it works. the ability text is simply Attack, meaning that you (obviously) can use it to attack. the big red 2 indicates you use two attack dice. the red symbol to the left of that is an arc indicator, meaning you can only attack from a turret arc with this weapon. this symbol also means the ship you equip the card to also gains a turret arc, using an indicator that is placed on the ships base. the white 1-2 under that is the range of the weapon.

below that is another large white symbol, Icon_action_rotate.png , indicating that the ship that has the upgrade card equipped gains the rotate action. this action is used to rotate your turret arc.

Dorsal_Turret_Hi_Res.png

please note that the dorsal turret itself is not a bonus attack, so when you perform an attack, you only perform an attack, not more. with just dorsal turret equipped, you either use your primary attack or the dorsal turret attack, not both.

please note that turrets and cannons now incur range bonuses, so range one means you roll an extra attack dice and range three would mean the defender would roll an extra attack dice (not that dorsal turret can shoot at range three as is, but still).

Swz_verteran-tail-gunner_upgrade.png

veteran tail gunner does not let you attack with dorsal turret, since it only triggers after you perform a primary front arc attack and lets you perform a bonus back arc attack. dorsal turret is neither of those, it is a turret arc attack, even if your turret arc indicator is pointing backwards or forwards.

Veteran_Turret_Gunner.png

veteran turret gunner, how ever, lets you perform a bonus turret attack after having performed a primary attack. so with dorsal turret and veteran turret gunner, you'd be able to first perform a primary attack and then the bonus attack with veteran turret gunner, even if your turret arc is pointing to the front and you just performed a primary front arc attack. this is because the primary front arc attack is not a turret arc - and the restriction on veteran turret gunner only disallows attacking out of the same turret arc that you've already attacked from that round.

please note that you're only allowed a grand total of one bonus attack per round, so ships only ever get to shoot twice during each round.

you can find the x-wing 2.0 rules reference here:
https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/95/bc/95bc5437-ca09-4991-bc3c-9cec5e04db90/swzrulesreference_v106-compressed.pdf

Thank you for the great answer. Much clearer now!

I got into a debate with a couple friends of mine on Dengar's pilot ability in the Punishing One.

The ability states " After you defend, if the attacker is in your Icon arc standard front.png , you may spend 1 Icon charge.png to perform a bonus attack against the attacker."

They are saying I can only use this if my turret if facing my front arc.

and I'm trying to explain that the only thing that matter is the enemy's position. And that if I have the turret to the side. And the enemy ship in both that side arc, and my front arc, I can use the ability.

can I get some official clarification on this?

Edited by talsargeldon
On 11/2/2019 at 8:50 PM, talsargeldon said:

I got into a debate with a couple friends of mine on Dengar's pilot ability in the Punishing One.

The ability states " After you defend, if the attacker is in your Icon arc standard front.png , you may spend 1 Icon charge.png to perform a bonus attack against the attacker."

They are saying I can only use this if my turret if facing my front arc.

and I'm trying to explain that the only thing that matter is the enemy's position. And that if I have the turret to the side. And the enemy ship in both that side arc, and my front arc, I can use the ability.

can I get some official clarification on this?

As long as the attacker is in your front arc, and you have a weapon that can legally target the attacker, and you have not already performed a bonus attack this round, you are free to use Dengar's ability to perform a bonus attack. There is nothing in the ability requiring Dengar to have his mobile arc pointed forward.

On 11/2/2019 at 5:50 PM, talsargeldon said:

I got into a debate with a couple friends of mine on Dengar's pilot ability in the Punishing One.

The ability states " After you defend, if the attacker is in your Icon arc standard front.png , you may spend 1 Icon charge.png to perform a bonus attack against the attacker."

They are saying I can only use this if my turret if facing my front arc.

and I'm trying to explain that the only thing that matter is the enemy's position. And that if I have the turret to the side. And the enemy ship in both that side arc, and my front arc, I can use the ability.

can I get some official clarification on this?

Did you have torpedoes equipped to him or did you have the turret primary only? Reason being (as Maui. points out):

19 minutes ago, Maui. said:

and you have a weapon that can legally target the attacker

If you just have the default primary weapon and it is facing the wrong way then they're right, you need to have Dengar's turret pointed into the front arc for him to get his retaliatory bonus attack. If you have Torpedoes equipped then you could use those for the bonus attack if you have a Lock on the attacker.

2 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:

Did you have torpedoes equipped to him or did you have the turret primary only? Reason being (as Maui. points out):

If you just have the default primary weapon and it is facing the wrong way then they're right, you need to have Dengar's turret pointed into the front arc for him to get his retaliatory bonus attack. If you have Torpedoes equipped then you could use those for the bonus attack if you have a Lock on the attacker.

If I am understanding the situation correctly, Dengar's mobile arc was pointed to the side, and the attacker was in both the front arc and the (active) side arc, meaning that although Dengar's mobile arc was not pointed forward, his ability triggered and he had a legal attack with the mobile arc.

Yes, my friend keeps insisting that since the card says front arc. That my bonus attack must originate from the front arc as well. So that either my moble arc must be pointed to my front arc, or use another weapon in my front arc to attack.

And I'm trying to explain that the only thing thats relevant is the location.

7 minutes ago, Maui. said:

If I am understanding the situation correctly, Dengar's mobile arc was pointed to the side, and the attacker was in both the front arc and the (active) side arc, meaning that although Dengar's mobile arc was not pointed forward, his ability triggered and he had a legal attack with the mobile arc.

1 hour ago, talsargeldon said:

Yes, my friend keeps insisting that since the card says front arc. That my bonus attack must originate from the front arc as well. So that either my moble arc must be pointed to my front arc, or use another weapon in my front arc to attack.

And I'm trying to explain that the only thing thats relevant is the location.

The card doesn't say anything about a front arc attack. It just says that if the attacking ship is in the front arc (he is), you can perform a bonus attack against that ship (using any weapon at your disposal, so long as it can legally target that ship).

Edited by Maui.
1 hour ago, Maui. said:

If I am understanding the situation correctly, Dengar's mobile arc was pointed to the side, and the attacker was in both the front arc and the (active) side arc, meaning that although Dengar's mobile arc was not pointed forward, his ability triggered and he had a legal attack with the mobile arc.

I missed that in their explanation.

@talsargeldon , @Maui. is correct. Dengar does not specify using a front arc attack so your bonus counter attack with his ability is legal. If he did specify a front arc attack he couldn't use his primary at all with his ability.

Edited by Hiemfire
18 hours ago, talsargeldon said:

Yes, my friend keeps insisting that since the card says front arc. That my bonus attack must originate from the front arc as well. So that either my moble arc must be pointed to my front arc, or use another weapon in my front arc to attack.

And I'm trying to explain that the only thing thats relevant is the location.

In order for your friend to be correct, Dengar's ability would need to say something like..

After you defend, if the attacker is in your [front arc] , you may spend 1 [charge] to perform a bonus [front arc] attack against the attacker.

1 hour ago, Lyianx said:

In order for your friend to be correct, Dengar's ability would need to say something like..

After you defend, if the attacker is in your [front arc] , you may spend 1 [charge] to perform a bonus [front arc] attack against the attacker.

Actually, that would prevent Dengar from taking a revenge shot with his primary weapon since it is a icon.php?icon=turretarc attack and not a icon.php?icon=frontarc attack.

7 minutes ago, joeshmoe554 said:

Actually, that would prevent Dengar from taking a revenge shot with his primary weapon since it is a icon.php?icon=turretarc attack and not a icon.php?icon=frontarc attack.

Exactly. Which is why its not worded that way.