Pattern Analyzer + Composure?

By emeraldbeacon, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If I have Pattern Analyzer and Composure equipped, can I execute a red maneuver, then attempt an action before I get stress, then if that action fails, still trigger Composure?

latest?cb=20181213183112 latest?cb=20180915001804

If Poe can do two actions and be double stressed or anyone do a linked action with PA, I’d say it works.

PA wording does not forbid additional actions like AS.

yes. from timing on page 19 of the RR:

Quote

After: The effect resolves immediately following the timing specified

that's still before the check difficulty step.

10 hours ago, JBFancourt said:

If Poe can do two actions and be double stressed or anyone do a linked action with PA, I’d say it works.

PA wording does not forbid additional actions like AS.

Not that i doubt you, but can you reference this? :)

It's a question of timing. The Pattern Analyzer action occurs while you execute your maneuver, before the Check Stress step. Therefore, any actions triggered by the PA action would also enter into the ability queue and resolve before the check stress step.

From the RR page 26. They specifically fixed the wording of Saws Renegades Adv Sensors:


“Should read “...If you do, you cannot perform another action during your activation.”


(Changed “skip your Perform Action step” to “you cannot perform another action during your activation.”)”

2063111301_AdvSensors..jpg.8b48fdc6c3530


Notice how FFG had to close the linked actions, Darth Vader, et cetera abuse.

The “one action” alone does not necessitate ONLY one action.

Linked Action: Pg 13

A linked action can be performed after performing the action it is attached to even if that action was granted by a card effect or other game effect.

So performing your “one action” can trigger your linked action prior to stress being received. Same with Poe.

latest?cb=20180803025737

Edited by JBFancourt

Found this while posting something else... just to illustrate another interaction.

COORDINATE (󲁈)
Pilots can coordinate to assist their allies. When a ship performs the 󲁈
action, it coordinates. A cooRdinating ship is a ship that is attempting to coordinate by performing the following steps:
1. Measure range from the coordinating ship to any friendly ships.
2. Choose another friendly ship at range 1–2.
3. The chosen ship performs one action.
Additionally:
• While a ship coordinates, the coordinate fails if no friendly ship can be chosen.
◊ If the chosen ship attempts to perform an action but that action fails, the coordinate does not fail.
• If an ability instructs a ship to coordinate, this is different than performing a 󲁈 action. A ship that coordinates without performing the action can still perform the 󲁈 action this round.

I think everyone is content with saying that this language does not prohibit Vader/linked actions/etc

If I read it correctly you will end up with 2 stress tokens on a Silencer, equiped with PA, after fully executing a red maneuver and taking focus action followed by use of the Autothrusters ship ability? Hopefully Muse is nearby to remove 1 of the stress tokens.

1 hour ago, Slade said:

If I read it correctly you will end up with 2 stress tokens on a Silencer, equiped with PA, after fully executing a red maneuver and taking focus action followed by use of the Autothrusters ship ability? Hopefully Muse is nearby to remove 1 of the stress tokens.

That sounds correct:

  1. Execute red maneuver
    1. Pattern Analyzer for 1 action
    2. Autothrusters for linked action, gain stress .
  2. Check Difficulty step, gain stress .
  3. Perform Action step technically still happens, but no action due to stress.