Updated Rules Reference - Attack and Defence Dice caps, Huge ships, and more!

By Jarval, in X-Wing

Wasn't in pink, but the Cargo Drift templates count as asteroids (Page 12).

This is not in pink neither, but if it‘s not a typo, it‘s a BIG CHANGE:

Force charges recovery was:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only one 󲈯 regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

Force charges recovery is now:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only a number of 󲈯 equal to the recurring charge symbols on its ship card, regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

So no more Force recovery if your ship doesn‘t have the force in it‘s base ship card??????

4 minutes ago, KaLeu said:

This is not in pink neither, but if it‘s not a typo, it‘s a BIG CHANGE:

Force charges recovery was:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only one 󲈯 regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

Force charges recovery is now:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only a number of 󲈯 equal to the recurring charge symbols on its ship card, regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

So no more Force recovery if your ship doesn‘t have the force in it‘s base ship card??????

I'm guessing/hoping typo since it would completely invalidate most of the force user crew cards outside of being taken with force user pilots. A massive nerf to anything using Maul, General Organa, Fifth Brother, etc.

5 minutes ago, KaLeu said:

So no more Force recovery if your ship doesn‘t have the force in it‘s base ship card??????

Yaeh, sounds like a mistake. They standardized the wording for all Charges and forgot this case.

Although I wonder why they did it for all Charges: If they don‘t want upgrades to increase the regeneration they could simply not release them.

8 minutes ago, KaLeu said:

Force charges recovery is now:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only a number of 󲈯 equal to the recurring charge symbols on its ship card, regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

So no more Force recovery if your ship doesn‘t have the force in it‘s base ship card??????

I think I'm gonna ignore this section of the rules. Who's with me.

"That's not how the Force works"

If an upgrade card has a Force capacity, this increases the Force capacity
of the ship. The 󲈯 are placed above the ship card it is attached to (not
the upgrade card).

I might be reading it wrong, but upgrade cards with force affect the base ship's force rating.

Force crew add force to the ship card.

Ramming with Huge Ships lives on (page 31, minor editing to get the symbols in):

OVERLAPPING OBJECTS
Huge ships have additional rules for overlapping objects that they use in place
of the rules used by standard ships.

Overlapping Obstacles
After a huge ship overlaps an obstacle, the obstacle is removed from the play
area. Then the huge ship suffers an effect according to the type of obstacle it
overlapped, as follows:
• Asteroid or Debris Field: The huge ship suffers one Icon damage crit damage
and gains one stress token.
• Gas Cloud: The huge ship gains one jam token.
Then the huge ship continues to resolve its activation. It does not skip its
Perform Action step

Overlapping Huge Ships
During the Activation Phase, if a huge ship overlaps another huge ship, it
executes a maneuver that is one speed lower than what was revealed on its
dial. The huge ship repeats this process until it does not overlap another huge
ship (executing a stationary maneuver [ Icon maneuver stop ] if it was executing a speed 0 bank).
See Example of Overlapping a Huge Ship.
Then the ship that executed the maneuver and each huge ship that it
overlapped suffers Icon damage crit damage equal to the speed of the maneuver on the
overlapping ship’s dial.
If a standard ship (a small, medium, or large ship) overlaps a huge ship, it
resolves the overlap using the same rules used for overlapping a standard
ship.

Overlapping Standard Ships
After a huge ship overlaps a standard ship, the standard ship suffers Icon damage crit
damage equal to the speed of the huge ship’s revealed maneuver. Then, the
standard ship is picked up and set aside until the huge ship completes its
maneuver. See Example of Overlapping a Standard Ship.
After the huge ship completes its maneuver, each standard ship that was
picked up is placed in the huge ship’s full rear arc [ Icon arc full back ] at range 0–1. Starting
with the first player, players take turns placing any of their standard ships that
were picked up. Any standard ship that cannot be placed is destroyed. After
a player places their ship, they must choose an opponent, who may rotate the
ship 90° to the left or right using the position marker from the core set.
After all ships are placed, the huge ship rolls one attack die for each small
ship it overlapped, two for each medium ship, and three for each large ship;
for each Icon damage hit result, the huge ship gains one stress token, and for each Icon damage crit
result the huge ship suffers one Icon damage crit damage.

12 minutes ago, KaLeu said:

This is not in pink neither, but if it‘s not a typo, it‘s a BIG CHANGE:

Force charges recovery was:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only one 󲈯 regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

Force charges recovery is now:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only a number of 󲈯 equal to the recurring charge symbols on its ship card, regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

So no more Force recovery if your ship doesn‘t have the force in it‘s base ship card??????

This is forestalling anyone that tries to recover one force for every triangle. I’ve had a couple people think they could recover 2-3 force per round with the way it was written before.

4 minutes ago, Tsavong said:

If an upgrade card has a Force capacity, this increases the Force capacity
of the ship. The 󲈯 are placed above the ship card it is attached to (not
the upgrade card).

I might be reading it wrong, but upgrade cards with force affect the base ship's force rating.

3 minutes ago, MegaSilver said:

Force crew add force to the ship card.

Does this include the recurring symbol as seen:

•Maul

(side note, Resistance Leia Organa does not have the + symbol next to the Force Charge #)

3 minutes ago, PaulRuddSays said:

This is forestalling anyone that tries to recover one force for every triangle. I’ve had a couple people think they could recover 2-3 force per round with the way it was written before.

I beg to differ. Before the rules clearly stated: Only recover ONE Force, simple and clear. Now it‘s a mess.

6 minutes ago, KaLeu said:

I beg to differ. Before the rules clearly stated: Only recover ONE Force, simple and clear. Now it‘s a mess.

I agree with you, this now muddles the interpretation once again. I can see this being abused by some, unfortunately.

6 hours ago, Jarval said:

You're capped at a maximum of 6 attack or defence dice on any roll.

ARTICLE II. THE RIGHT OF THE PEOPLE TO LET TRICK SHOT HERA SHOOT AT RANGE 1 WITH JAN SUPPORT SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED

Edited by Ablazoned

@KaLeu @Cgriffith @Tsavong

Page preceding (bold and underlining important part):

Recurring Charges
Some charge limits, shield capacities, and all Force
capacities
have a recurring charge symbol. During
the End Phase, each card with a recurring charge symbol
recovers one charge.

So it looks like if a ship has a force capacity above 0, including the additional capacity from upgrades, it is treated as having a single recurring charge symbol on its card.

The FULL TEXT of what KaLeu was referencing (Page 8 of the 1.0.6 Rules Reference):

Force Charge ( Icon force )
Force charges (
Icon force ) represent how some pilots or crew members can exert
their influence over the Force.
While it performs an attack, a ship can spend any number of
Icon force during the
Attack Dice step to change that number of its
Icon action focus results to Icon damage hit results.
While it defends, a ship can spend any number of
Icon force during the Defense Dice
step to change that number of its
Icon action focus results to Icon action evade results.
• If an upgrade card has a Force capacity, this increases the Force capacity
of the ship. The
Icon force are placed above the ship card it is attached to (not
the upgrade card).
◊ A ship card that does not have a Force capacity on its ship card has a
Force capacity of “0,” but that capacity can be increased by upgrade
cards that have a Force capacity.
◊ During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only a
number of
Icon force equal to the recurring charge symbols on its ship card,
regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on
its upgrade cards.
◊ If an upgrade card instructs the ship to spend
Icon force , those Icon force are spent
from the ship card.

1 hour ago, MegaSilver said:

Force crew add force to the ship card.

THIS!

If anyone bothered to read the RR, the point before specifically states that the force is added to the ship card.

This will not muddle the rules, it just makes the one force regen per turn regardless the number of ^ on cards more clear.

1 hour ago, KaLeu said:

This is not in pink neither, but if it‘s not a typo, it‘s a BIG CHANGE:

Force charges recovery was:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only one 󲈯 regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

Force charges recovery is now:

During the End Phase, each ship with a Force capacity recovers only a number of 󲈯 equal to the recurring charge symbols on its ship card, regardless of the number of recurring charge symbols that appear on its upgrade cards.

So no more Force recovery if your ship doesn‘t have the force in it‘s base ship card??????

Not an accurate reading. This is talking specifically about ships with Force capacity, such as Jedi, not ships that have added Force due to crew upgrades.

1 hour ago, Hiemfire said:

I'm guessing/hoping typo since it would completely invalidate most of the force user crew cards outside of being taken with force user pilots. A massive nerf to anything using Maul, General Organa, Fifth Brother, etc.

Respectfully, it wouldn't - Those are abilities unique to the crew members that possess them, and are added to a ship, not intrinsic to the ship itself, which is how I would understand that clarification/ruling. I would agree with @PaulRuddSays (quote below) and have no problems with the change, since to me it doesn't apply to these crew. They have recurring charge symbols present on the cards themselves. @Dr Moneypants also has the right of it.

1 hour ago, PaulRuddSays said:

This is forestalling anyone that tries to recover one force for every triangle. I’ve had a couple people think they could recover 2-3 force per round with the way it was written before.

Edited by feltipern1

@Wazat I think they saw your "Wulfwarro Warcrimes" list. From the section of Attack on page 5:

Roll Attack Dice: The attacking player determines the number
of attack dice to roll. Starting with the attack value, modifiers that
increase or decrease the number of attack dice (such as range bonus
and other effects) are applied. Next, if any minimum or maximum
number of dice has been set, that limit is applied. There is always a
minimum of 0 and a maximum of 6 . Then they roll that many dice.

Also applies to defense dice (same page):

Roll Defense Dice: The defending player determines a number of
defense dice to roll. Starting with the defender’s agility value, modifiers
that increase or decrease the number of defense dice (such as range
bonus, whether the attack is being obstructed by an obstacle, and other
effects) are applied. Next, if any minimum or maximum number of dice
has been set, that limit is applied. There is always a minimum of 0 and
a maximum of 6 . Then they roll that many dice.

These were my important take aways:

ALLIED = ships that are controlled by another player on the same team.
FRIENDLY = ships that are under your control.
=====
Command Upgrades - each ship has ONE command upgrade.
=====
A huge ship can perform as many bonus attacks as it wants per turn. You can only do each one once.
=====
Huge ship gets ionized when it has 6 ion tokens.
=====
Huge ships obstruct. Add 1 green die.

12 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:

Not an accurate reading. This is talking specifically about ships with Force capacity, such as Jedi, not ships that have added Force due to crew upgrades.

Respectfully, it wouldn't - Those are abilities unique to the crew members that possess them, and are added to a ship, not intrinsic to the ship itself, which is how I would understand that clarification/ruling. I would agree with @PaulRuddSays (quote below) and have no problems with the change, since to me it doesn't apply to these crew. They have recurring charge symbols present on the cards themselves. @Dr Moneypants also has the right of it.

A couple of posts above yours.

@PaulRuddSays & @Dr Moneypants are correct. It looks like the assumption was a skim read error. For ease there are 2 important sections:

1. Recurring Charges on page 7 states that "all Force capacities have a recurring charge symbol."

2. First diamond bullet point of the Force Charges section on page 8 "A ship card that does not have a Force capacity on its ship card has a Force capacity of “0,” but that capacity can be increased by upgrade cards that have a Force capacity."

Since all ships have a Force capacity, though for most ships it is 0, and all Force capacities have a single recurring charge symbol, then all ships with a force capacity greater than 0 (inclusive of extra capacity granted by upgrades) regain 1 force charge per end phase up to their maximum capacity (per the first bullet of Charges on page 7: "When an effect instructs a ship to recover a charge, an inactive charge on that ship (ship or upgrade card) is flipped to its active side. A card cannot recover a charge if all of its charges are on their active side.").

Edited by Hiemfire
2 hours ago, Jarval said:

Key changes I've spotted:

  • You're capped at a maximum of 6 attack or defence dice on any roll.

But my Superweapons??!!

49 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:

@Wazat I think they saw your "Wulfwarro Warcrimes" list. From the section of Attack on page 5:

Roll Attack Dice: The attacking player determines the number
of attack dice to roll. Starting with the attack value, modifiers that
increase or decrease the number of attack dice (such as range bonus
and other effects) are applied. Next, if any minimum or maximum
number of dice has been set, that limit is applied. There is always a
minimum of 0 and a maximum of 6 . Then they roll that many dice.

"Curse you EFF EFF GEEEEEE!!!" But also, a I'm bit flattered. :D I'd be delighted if I was actually on their radar! But it's probably more driven by one of the Epic ships' combos, or mere future-proofing for Epic. Unless someone's taken Wullffwarro War Crimes to Worlds, it's unlikely that anyone at FFG has even seen it.

Thankfully WWC isn't overly affected by this limit -- that seventh die is very rare, happening to me only a couple of times. You can work to line up that perfect shot, but if you do, you've probably given up too much in the process. Usually the fleet aims for 5 - 6 double-modded dice and a 7th is just the shiny high end: the 7 possible dice just raises how many you usually get, since there are 4 separate conditions for an extra die and it's easier to satisfy at least a couple. As with rolling many dice in general, you're mostly concerned with averages, not with the rare maximum. WWC is just interesting in that it frequently rolls max damage for the number of dice it has, so every additional die is... marvelous.

I haven't had time to peruse all the RR changes but I'll try to do so soon. Unfortunately I don't remember if we even covered the last RR update on the wiki... I've been really busy and exhausted from work, and stuff I would normally help with or handle has been falling through the cracks. :(

Edited by Wazat

They still haven't reworded the Activation Phase rules to allow upgrades like R4 to work.

Whisper cloaked + cloaking device + range 3 + obstructed is sad. Give me my die back !

Edited by Ximatique
1 hour ago, Hiemfire said:

1. Recurring Charges on page 7 states that "all Force capacities have a recurring charge symbol."

2. First diamond bullet point of the Force Charges section on page 8 "A ship card that does not have a Force capacity on its ship card has a Force capacity of “0,” but that capacity can be increased by upgrade cards that have a Force capacity."

There is no rule in the rules reference v106 limiting the Force recurring gained from upgrades to 1. If there is the special case of gaining the recurring charge if my ships Force is 0 I would therefore gain 2 or more if I equip enough crew.

Besides that the wording for e.g. Shields is exact the same so the same pattern would apply.