What happens when a ship with a Buzz Droid token attached moves over an asteroid or debris field? Does it roll for damage? I know about not being able to be placed overlapping an object.
Discord missile question
The ship, obviously, has to roll for obstacle damage if it flies through an asteroid or debris field. After the ship finishes its maneuver (fully or otherwise), assuming that you also overlapped the buzz droid (probably because it was in your front guides), the buzz droid is relocated to your front or rear guides, as usual. If you cannot place the buzz droid (because it would overlap a ship or obstacle), then the droid explodes as usual, for 1 damage to the carrying ship.
I think your question comes from the concept of, "what happens when a remote moves through or overlaps an obstacle." Buzz Droids, by their own card restrictions, can never overlap an obstacle, and they never "move," as defined by the game. Instead, they are either "relocated," or suffer damage (which subsequently destroys them).
1 hour ago, Stoneface said:What happens when a ship with a Buzz Droid token attached moves over an asteroid or debris field? Does it roll for damage? I know about not being able to be placed overlapping an object.
What do you mean by attached? Do you mean the ship moved through or overlapped a Buzz Droid template that was in its front guides or some thing else?
31 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:What do you mean by attached? Do you mean the ship moved through or overlapped a Buzz Droid template that was in its front guides or some thing else?
Buzz droids dont move mechanically, so they can never trigger the effects of obstacles. They just have their own effect if they are forced to overlap a ship or obstacle.
When a ship moves, the droids dont "move". The token stays until the ship is in its final position. Then, you relocate the buzz droids to the front or rear guides, which ever does not cause the buzz droid token to overlap a ship or obstacle.
Rules Reference pg 9 under Devices
QuoteTo relocate a device, do the following:
• Pick up and replace the device as described in the effect that relocated it. This can involve a template, or might place the device at a ship’s guides.
• A device that relocates does not count as moving through or overlapping obstacles.
Now, i get it specifically says "device", but im assuming thats an oversight on FFG's part.
@Lyianx I believe you misread me. I am well aware of the relocation mechanic of Buzz Droids and its limitations. The OP might not be though, which is why I asked them to clarify "attached". When Buzz Droids were first released there was a fairly large contingent of players that erroneously assumed Buzz Droids moved with the ship it was in the guides of regardless of if that ship moved through or overlapped it or not. The OP may believe that this is so despite the condition card clearly stating otherwise.
Edited by Hiemfire5 hours ago, Lyianx said:
Buzz droids dont move mechanically, so they can never trigger the effects of obstacles. They just have their own effect if they are forced to overlap a ship or obstacle.
When a ship moves, the droids dont "move". The token stays until the ship is in its final position. Then, you relocate the buzz droids to the front or rear guides, which ever does not cause the buzz droid token to overlap a ship or obstacle.
Rules Reference pg 9 under DevicesNow, i get it specifically says "device", but im assuming thats an oversight on FFG's part.
I missed this from the RRG.
Edited by StonefaceAuto correct
5 hours ago, Lyianx said:
Now, i get it specifically says "device", but im assuming thats an oversight on FFG's part.
A "device" is any Bomb, Mine, or Remote. No problem with the wording here.
5 hours ago, Hiemfire said:What do you mean by attached? Do you mean the ship moved through or overlapped a Buzz Droid template that was in its front guides or some thing else?
The question was brought up the other night. What happens to the Buzz Droid that's attached (attacking) to a ship when that ship moves and overlaps an asteroid. Both of us were aware that if the BD token couldn't be placed without overlapping an object that it would be destroyed. We weren't sure if it rolled for damage. Both of us missed the bit on page 9 that @Lyianx quoted.
5 hours ago, Hiemfire said:@Lyianx I believe you misread me. I am well aware of the relocation mechanic of Buzz Droids and its limitations. The OP might not be though, which is why I asked them to clarify "attached". When Buzz Droids were first released there was a fairly large contingent of players that erroneously assumed Buzz Droids moved with the ship it was in the guides of regardless of if that ship moved through or overlapped it or not. The OP may believe that this is so despite the condition card clearly stating otherwise.
I knew it didn't move with the ship but didn't know if it would roll for the obstacle.
28 minutes ago, Stoneface said:The question was brought up the other night. What happens to the Buzz Droid that's attached (attacking) to a ship when that ship moves and overlaps an asteroid. Both of us were aware that if the BD token couldn't be placed without overlapping an object that it would be destroyed. We weren't sure if it rolled for damage. Both of us missed the bit on page 9 that @Lyianx quoted.
Okay, thanks for clarifying.
11 hours ago, Stoneface said:I knew it didn't move with the ship but didn't know if it would roll for the obstacle.
In this case, it's helpful to review the rules for Obstacles , found on page 13 of the Rules Reference . In this case, the rules state what happens when ships overlap an obstacle... but are notably silent when it comes to devices. That's because, per the rules for Devices (found on page 9), " A device that relocates does not count as moving through or overlapping o bstacles. "
I'm sure some will ask, "why even bring that up? Buzz Droids can never be on an obstacle anyway." While Buzz Droids cannot be relocated to any position that would force an overlap, they MAY be launched onto an obstacle. The restriction on the Buzz Droid card only refers to
relocating
the swarm, not the initial launch itself. Similarly, someone could conceivably use Rigged Cargo Chute to drop a Loose Cargo (debris) Token on top of a stray Buzz Droid, which wouldn't trigger the swarm's "auto-destruct" feature. In fact, because Remotes are not Ships, I don't even think the Buzz Droid would have to roll for damage, either... but that's another question entirely.
10 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:In this case, it's helpful to review the rules for Obstacles , found on page 13 of the Rules Reference . In this case, the rules state what happens when ships overlap an obstacle... but are notably silent when it comes to devices. That's because, per the rules for Devices (found on page 9), " A device that relocates does not count as moving through or overlapping o bstacles. "
I'm sure some will ask, "why even bring that up? Buzz Droids can never be on an obstacle anyway." While Buzz Droids cannot be relocated to any position that would force an overlap, they MAY be launched onto an obstacle. The restriction on the Buzz Droid card only refers to relocating the swarm, not the initial launch itself. Similarly, someone could conceivably use Rigged Cargo Chute to drop a Loose Cargo (debris) Token on top of a stray Buzz Droid, which wouldn't trigger the swarm's "auto-destruct" feature. In fact, because Remotes are not Ships, I don't even think the Buzz Droid would have to roll for damage, either... but that's another question entirely.
![]()
![]()
Never thought of launching onto an obstacle. Interesting.
6 minutes ago, Stoneface said:Never thought of launching onto an obstacle. Interesting.
It's rarely a good decision, since you're usually only going to get 1 regular damage out of it (it may be tough to place the swarm token), but situationally, it can be effective, just for the surprise factor... especially if it's dealing 1 damage to grappling droid before it unloads a Diamond Boron into you.
9 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:It's rarely a good decision, since you're usually only going to get 1 regular damage out of it (it may be tough to place the swarm token), but situationally, it can be effective, just for the surprise factor... especially if it's dealing 1 damage to grappling droid before it unloads a Diamond Boron into you.
Dang, that's brilliant!
11 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:It's rarely a good decision, since you're usually only going to get 1 regular damage out of it (it may be tough to place the swarm token), but situationally, it can be effective, just for the surprise factor... especially if it's dealing 1 damage to grappling droid before it unloads a Diamond Boron into you.
While this does fall under the "rarely" category, tossing a Buzz Droid onto the rock that a Qui'Ra equipped ship has locked and is on/going to fly through can be a nasty hello to that ship (most of the time I've seen her equipped it has been to a med or large base and usually the front and rear guides are completely clear of the obstacle despite the base overlapping it).
On 10/26/2019 at 1:20 AM, Matanui3 said:A "device" is any Bomb, Mine, or Remote. No problem with the wording here.
Device isnt specifically defined as that (just as "objects", which can mean anything so the vague wording can work), but i was more aiming at the fact that there are device upgrade slots, which discord missiles do not use.
6 minutes ago, Lyianx said:Device isnt specifically defined as that (just as "objects", which can mean anything so the vague wording can work), but i was more aiming at the fact that there are device upgrade slots , which discord missiles do not use.
There aren't Device slots anymore. They've been re-termed in the most current RR as Payload slots. Check Page 19, bottom right (Upgrade Icons section). Same symbol, name has changed.
Edited by Hiemfire1 hour ago, Hiemfire said:There aren't Device slots anymore. They've been re-termed in the most current RR as Payload slots. Check Page 19, bottom right (Upgrade Icons section). Same symbol, name has changed.
This.
I imagine this change was specifically because they were re-purposing the word "Device" as a catch-all term to refer to Bombs, Mines, and Remotes, and didn't want to confuse the token "Device" with the upgrade slot "Device." Hence, Payload was born.
18 hours ago, Hiemfire said:There aren't Device slots anymore. They've been re-termed in the most current RR as Payload slots. Check Page 19, bottom right (Upgrade Icons section). Same symbol, name has changed.
HA! I totally missed that. Thanks
I also found this under Remotes: pg 16
QuoteRemotes are devices....
Alright then!
Edited by Lyianx