GA97 its the resistance

By mcintma, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Does the deploying ship deploy at the start of the round per the card or system phase per Deploy rule? If at start of round, does it immediately set dial perform maneuver and take action - before other ships’ dials are even set? Thanks!

"It's The Resistance" does not use any of the docking rules. The ship in question was never docked, so its deployment is not governed by the rules surrounding deploying a docked ship.

When its time comes, the ship deploys at the start of the round and then participates normally, setting its dial during the planning phase and then activating during the activation phase just like any other ship would.

@Maui. Is correct, everywhere on It's the Resistance where it reads "deploy" it should read "place your ship"

🤣 🤣 🤣 😅 😢 Cards for reference, commentary following that:

swz45_ga-97.png

284?cb=20190618045230

Good catch @mcintma ! Looks like you found an example of technical editor oversight. It's an understandable mistake since in many miniatures games the initial setup of forces is referred to as "deployment" and in X-wing miniatures the setup is informally called "deploying ships" But! The X-wing rulebooks have always called it the Place Forces step. This is made a true technical error by the addition to X-wing of a separate Deploy mechanic that is unrelated to initial placement and instead is part of Docking.

(I even dug out my old original core set rule book from early 1e to confirm Place Forces has always been place forces, initial setup of models has never technically been labeled as deploy in this game.)

An additional commentary: if the Resistance ever gains access to ships with a legitimate docking feature a player would be well within the written rules to say that when they deploy the docked ship with this condition attached, they deploy around the board edge instead of coming off the mother ship as normal. That could lead to the original questions becoming a real point point of contention.

16 hours ago, mcintma said:

Does the deploying ship deploy at the start of the round per the card or system phase per Deploy rule? If at start of round, does it immediately set dial perform maneuver and take action - before other ships’ dials are even set? Thanks!

Hopefully the Resistance never gets docking ships so that It's the Resistance can stay a clear case of intent unobscured by direct interaction with contradicting written rules. Either that or hope they issue a hard errata to bring it in line with written rules when a docking ship joins the faction.

Edited by nitrobenz
Added last line

Sigh.

Good gravy the transport is a mess.

Ffg, technical writer, whinge, etc