Fine Tuned Controls, vs Foresite/snap shot

By Icelom, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Pretty simple if i am shooting with forsite or snap shot against a ship with fine tuned controls what is the order of things happening.

Is this correct:
Ship 1: Foresite
Ship 2: Fine Tuned controls

Scenario 1: Ship 1 is first player, ship 2 is second player
1. Ship 2 (fine tuned controls) moves into range 1-3 and in bullseye of Ship 1 (foresite)
2. Both Fine tuned controls and Forsight trigger off of executing a manovuer
3. Since ship 1 is controlled by the first player (player who moves first) his trigger enters the ability que first, then ship 2's ability enters into the que behind ship 1's ability.
4. Ship 1's ability triggers first and he shoots ship 2, then ship 2 can preform its boost or barrel roll ability if it wants to.

Scenario 2: Ship 2 is first player, ship 1 is second player.
1. Ship 2 (fine tuned controls) moves into range 1-3 and in bullseye of Ship 1 (foresite)
2. Both Fine tuned controls and Forsight trigger off of executing a manovuer

3. Since ship 2 is controlled by the first player (player who moves first) his trigger enters the ability que first, then ship 1's ability enters into the que behind ship 2's ability.

4. Ship 2's ability triggers first allowing him to boost or barrel roll out of the bullseye of ship 1, ship 1's ability then triggers but there is no longer a legal target and so no attack is allowed.

Are both these scenarios correct? (and are they the same outcomes with snapshot substituted in for foresite except having to deal with a full arc and range 2)

fcf515534a722b581bc2f85f36cb5c30.png 12c948b9a0fe9f619ecda00f9fdcc437.png

fed45c0416dfd298d9433c4608e99b7e.png



Edited by Icelom
23 minutes ago, Icelom said:

Are both these scenarios correct? (and are they the same outcomes with snapshot substituted in for foresite except having to deal with a full arc and range 1-2)

Yes and yes.

48 minutes ago, Icelom said:

range 1-2

Slight misread on my part, though I think it is a mistype on yours. Range 2 only for Snap Shot. Otherwise correct.

2 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Slight misread on my part, though I think it is a mistype on yours. Range 2 only for Snap Shot. Otherwise correct.

Yup just a mistake, that is why i like to link the cards themselves.

For completeness; there is technically a third scenario, where the first player's Delta-7 executes a manoeuvre, is not within the bullseye/at range 2, then triggers Fine-Tuned Controls to boost, and afterwards is within the arc of fire of Snap Shot/Foresight at the point the second player would normally be able to resolve the attack.

In this case you cannot add Snap Shot to the queue 'preemptively' if the target is not in arc at your opportunity to do so.

"A ship being in-arc at range for an attack made as part of a triggered ability, such as Snap Shot or Foresight, is also a requirement for that ability.If an ability's requirements are not met at the time the ability would be added to the queue, it cannot be added to the queue."

A good rule of thumb for the new queue rules seem to be: If you can do the whole entire ability in the current game-state, you can add it to the queue. Otherwise, you can't.

Maybe something happens to the ability and it won't work later, but not the other way around.