Stunned Pilot and Landing Struts

By markrivett, in X-Wing Rules Questions

My opponent and I reasoned that since the “while” trigger in Landing Struts occurs before the “after” trigger of Stunned Pilot, a Vulture Droid with a Stunned Pilot card does NOT take damage via Stunned Pilot. The Landing Struts flip and cause the Vulture to “ignore obstacles at range 0”.

Just wanted to confirm that this was the correct interpretation.

Thank You.

Ignoring obstacles means ignoring the effects of obstacles. You still resolve other effects that interact with obstacles, like trick shot or stunned pilot.

But, droids with struts open don't execute a maneuver, which is the trigger for stunned pilot. So you were right on accident.

Edit: unless you mean, struts started open, and they flew onto the rock? In which case, they get hit by stunned, because they executed a maneuver (ala above).

Edited by svelok
1 minute ago, svelok said:

Ignoring obstacles means ignoring the effects of obstacles. You still resolve other effects that interact with obstacles, like trick shot or stunned pilot.

But, droids with struts open don't execute a maneuver, which is the trigger for stunned pilot. So you were right on accident.

The "While" trigger they're referring to is from the Closed side causing the Struts to flip to open, so a maneuver has been performed in this case.

To clarify, yes, a maneuver was performed (a 2 turn) to place the Vulture Droid on the rock. The struts were in the closed position and the Stunned Pilot had been applied on the previous turn in which the ship was not on the asteroid.

The struts then closed as per wall of text on card.

So, with this added information, we played it correctly or no?

No

Stunned Pilot takes effect regardless of whether you're ignoring the rock. Stunned Pilot's damage is an effect of Stunned Pilot, not the rock.

You don't stake Stunned Pilot damage if you use Struts to remain in place on a rock, because no manouevre is executed in that instance.

On 10/14/2019 at 4:16 PM, thespaceinvader said:

No

Stunned Pilot takes effect regardless of whether you're ignoring the rock. Stunned Pilot's damage is an effect of Stunned Pilot, not the rock.

You don't stake Stunned Pilot damage if you use Struts to remain in place on a rock, because no manouevre is executed in that instance.

What they said. Even if you ''Ignore the effect of rock while moving'' you still ''Moved Over a rock''. That means that the Rock itself will have no effect, but the damage from stunned pilot comes from the card Stunned Pilot, and as such is not ignored. Same with trick shot, etc. You just have to be certain of where the effect is coming from, is it from a card, from a object, from a pilot, etc, to be certain if you should apply it or not.