This is an interesting rules interaction I had today:
_______
My ship with Cluster Missiles takes a lock on Captain Seevor (Mining Guild TIE), ready to blast him and one of his moldy swarm buddies into oblivion.
I declare Seevor as the target of my attack and spend the charge on my cluster missiles.
Before dice are rolled, my opponent uses Seevor's ability to jam off my target lock.
I roll the special weapon attack (with no mods and to no avail), then attempt to spend another charge to use cluster missiles again for a bonus attack according to the missile ability.
At this point, my opponent is quite insistent that I cannot do the bonus attack, because he had jammed off my initial target lock. I showed him how the cluster missiles bonus attack ignores target lock requirements.
Then he insisted that my first shot with the Missiles should not have occurred, since the required lock had not been present PRIOR to dice being rolled.
.................
Long argument short (it was civil), I fired the bonus attack anyway (to do a whopping no damage again), and we decided to confirm the rules on this matter at a later date (which I promptly looked up after getting home today).
______
The Xwing Rules Reference, page 18, says under "Special Weapons",
"
Some attacks also have special requirements listed in parentheses after the header.
◊ The “Attack ():” header indicates that the attacker must have a
lock on the defender.
"
and,
"
For cards with special requirements, all of those requirements must be met in order to perform that attack."
______
(UPDATED)
My Verdict:
-__-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_
Should Seevor's jam prevent the cluster missile attack (first shot) because I did not fulfill the requirements for the special attack at the time of rolling dice?
-_-_-_-_--_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_
If my opponent was correct, I would have wasted the charge spent as cost for the attack (because the timing for paying costs for the attack comes BEFORE Seevor's "before attack dice are rolled" stipulation. The word "Before" is defined on page 19 of the reules reference as: "• Before : The effect resolves immediately preceding the timing specified." ie: after step 1 and before step 2 of an attacker declaring a target and attempting to roll dice. )
[Summon @Blail Blerg , @Musical Xeno , @Rytackle , @Brunas , @pheaver ]
_______
UPDATE:
Thanks for all the feedback and discussion, people. I kinda felt bullied by a player I respected today, and his arguments could have easily been supported by looking at the rules a certain way. I would be very disappointed if this was ruled incorrectly at a local tournament.
_______
What interesting rules interactions have you had lately?
Edited by Bucknife
Updated for future reference