X-wing Rules Forum Update

By MegaSilver, in X-Wing

Check out the pinned post in the Rules Section, rules are being updated.

So in the end pretty much all explanations are common sense explanations most people were using anyway.

I sure hope that people who declared that Focus and Target Lock no longer work are happy with themselves and wish them a long and cheerful life they are obviously living.

Is it just me, or we still don't know if Nantex-class can tractor onto Debris to dodge rotation? ( Answered after a while:

Is it just me, or we still don't know if Snap Shot can be used as normal attack?

Edited by Ryfterek
6 minutes ago, Ryfterek said:

Is it just me, or we still don't know if Nantex-class can tractor onto Debris to dodge rotation?

Is it just me, or we still don't know if Snap Shot can be used as normal attack?

Not just you.

10 minutes ago, Ryfterek said:

Is it just me, or we still don't know if Snap Shot can be used as normal attack?

YES you can use it as a non-bonus special attack. The whole paragraph beforehand tells you how you can use it as a bonus special attack.

Edited by MegaSilver

Nantex updated just now.

no dodging rotation

Q: Which effects are abilities?

A: An ability is text from a card a player controls (such a ship card, upgrade card, damage card, remote card, device, condition card, etc).

A few abilities are constant (such as the "Gain a <frontarc> primary weapon with a value of '3'" portion of Moldy Crow ). Constant abilities are not resolved via the ability queue.

Most abilities are triggered, occurring only at a specified timing window (such as the "During the End Phase, do not remove up to 2 focus tokens" portion of Moldy Crow ). Triggered abilities are resolved via the ability queue.

Each triggered ability has the following parts:

  • A timing (when the ability is added to the ability queue)
  • An effect (what the ability does)

Additionally, an ability can have one or more of the following:

  • One or more requirements the ship must meet
  • One or more costs the ship must pay

A text box can contain multiple abilities if there are multiple constant abilities or triggers that can add an ability to the queue (as in the Moldy Crow example).

Q: What is meant by a "requirement" for an ability?

A: A requirement for an ability is a conditional if-statement, such as "if you are tractored" or "if the defender is in your bullseye arc." A ship being in-arc at range for an attack made as part of a triggered ability, such as Snap Shot or Foresight, is also a requirement for that ability.

If an ability's requirements are not met at the time the ability would be added to the queue, it cannot be added to the queue.

If the ability's requirements are not met at the time the ability would be resolved from the queue, the ability is not resolved and is instead removed from the queue.

If an ability instruct you to make a choice, such as choosing a ship, that is not itself a requirement to initiate an ability

Q: When is the cost for an ability paid?

A: The cost for an ability is paid when the ability is resolved.

An ability cannot be added to the queue if its cost could not be paid at the time it is added.

If an ability's cost cannot be paid when it would be resolved from the queue, the ability is not resolved and is instead removed from the queue. The ability's cost is not paid.

An ability can have multiple costs. If it does, all costs must be paid to resolve it. If all costs cannot be paid, no costs are paid and the ability is removed from the queue and not resolved.

Q: When specifically during an attack do effects that apply "while you perform an attack" or "while you defend" apply?

A: Abilities are applied at the step in the attack at which they take effect. For example, in the case of Predator, as this is a dice modification, it is applied at Step 2b: Modify Attack Dice. Note, however, that effects resolved during Step 2b: Modify Attack Dice and 3b: Modify Defense Dice do not use the ability queue, as they are resolved in the order described in that section of the rules reference.

Q: If a ship executes a stationary maneuver in arc at range 2 of an enemy ship with Snap Shot equipped (or in the bullseye arc of an enemy ship with Foresight equipped), can the ship with Snap Shot (or Foresight) perform the bonus attack?

A: Yes.

Q: While "Scourge" Skutu performs an attack using Snap Shot, if the defender is in "Scourge" Skutu's bullseye arc, does "Scourge" Skutu add an additional attack die?

A: Yes.

Q: If a ship with Fine-Tuned Controls (or another ability that triggers "after you execute/fully execute a maneuver") fully executes a maneuver in arc at range 2 of a ship equipped with Snap Shot, how is this resolved?

A: This is resolved one of several ways depending on which player is first player.

In all cases, both abilities ("After you fully execute a maneuver, you may spend 1 force charge to perform a boost or barrel roll action" and "After an enemy ship executes a maneuver, you may perform this attack against it as a bonus attack") are added to the ability queue.

If the first player controls the ship with Fine-Tune Controls, that player resolves this ability before Snap Shot is resolved. If, after performing a boost or barrel roll, the ship with Fine-Tuned Controls is no longer in range or arc to be chosen as a target for Snap Shot, Snap Shot cannot be resolved and is removed from the queue.

If the second player controls the ship with Fine-Tuned Controls, their opponent resolves Snap Shot first.

Q: How do abilities that alter the speed, difficulty, and/or bearing of a maneuver that a ship reveals during its Reveal Dial step and executes during its Execute Maneuver step resolve? For example, if Hera Syndulla [Attack Shuttle] is equipped with R4 Astromech and Seasoned Navigator, and also has the Damaged Engine Damage Card, what happens?

A: R4 Astromech and Damaged Engine (and other constant effects that alter the difficulty of a maneuver, such as Nien Nunb [Crew], L3-37's Programming, and Leia Organa [Rebel and Resistance, Crew]) apply only during the Execute Maneuver step and for effects that trigger after that ship executes a maneuver.

So, after Hera's dial is revealed, Hera's player may add Hera's pilot ability and Seasoned Navigator's ability to the ability queue in either order. Both abilities resolve, and if Seasoned Navigator's ability is resolved, the difficulty of the maneuver is increased during the Execute Maneuver step (i.e. the difficulty has not yet been increased when Hera's pilot ability is resolved).

Then, during the Execute Maneuver step, all abilities that alter the difficulty of the maneuver are cumulative as normal.

Note that abilities that alter a maneuver without causing the ship to select a new maneuver on its dial do not affect the ship's "revealed maneuver" as referenced by abilities such as Ric Olié's pilot ability.

Q: After a Nantex- class starfighter executes its maneuver, if it uses its Pinpoint Tractor Array ship ability to assign a tractor token to itself so that it can rotate its turret arc, and then it barrel rolls itself over a debris field as a result of becoming tractored, giving it a stress token, how does this resolve?

A: After a Nantex -class starfighter executes its maneuver, it has the option to add an ability in the queue with the effect of "gain 1 tractor token to perform a <rotate> action."

When this ability resolves, the Nantex -class starfighter pays the cost ("gain 1 tractor token") to resolve this effect. The Nantex -class starfighter gains 1 tractor token, then performs the rotate action. Note that it does not resolve the game effect of becoming tractored (which triggers after the first time a ship becomes tractored each round) until after it fully resolves the ability by completing the rotate action.

Once the ability is fully resolved, the game effect that triggers after a ship becomes tractored is applied to the Nantex -class starfighter (before any other abilities on the queue are resolved), prompting the Nantex -class starfighter's player to move it, if they desire. If they do and this movement takes the Nantex -class starfighter onto a debris cloud, it resolves the effects of moving through or overlapping the debris cloud, including gaining 1 stress token.

Finally, any other abilities on the queue are then resolved in order.

Woah so you can’t GAIN a requirement in the same timing window, but you can LOSE a requirement? Am I understanding that correctly?

6 minutes ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

Woah so you can’t GAIN a requirement in the same timing window, but you can LOSE a requirement? Am I understanding that correctly?

Pretty much, and requirements are not always explicitly defined but in some cases can be implicitly defined requiring you to pre-resolve abilities in order to determine if you can add them to the queue and then properly resolve them later.

The rule making language of this game was fairly simple, concise, logical and easy to grasp at the start of 2.0 but with each and every new entry it's evolving towards an equivalent of French.

Putain .

29 minutes ago, joeshmoe554 said:

Pretty much, and requirements are not always explicitly defined but in some cases can be implicitly defined requiring you to pre-resolve abilities in order to determine if you can add them to the queue and then properly resolve them later.

giphy.gif

I’ve run local tournaments since way back in 1.0, with the way they are currently writing and constantly changing he rule set with each release it’s making me more and more likely to drop running events in the future.

Personally I can’t wait for epic battles and huge ships to come out so that I can forget that organized play ever existed. This game was awesome when 2.0 first dropped, unfortunately as some people posted back when it was all changing the rules are still written by the same people who screwed the pooch in 1.0.

Are uh, are we gonna' need a 3.0 at this rate..?

1 hour ago, Vykk Draygo said:

I’ve run local tournaments since way back in 1.0, with the way they are currently writing and constantly changing he rule set with each release it’s making me more and more likely to drop running events in the future.

^^This. I can't keep up with all this ****.

Or I'll just whimsically and dictatorily apply whatever interpretation of the rules seems best at the time. We're a scrubby, casual store, so it will just HAVE to be fine that I run my tournaments in truly scrubby, casual style.

I... the Hera/R4/Nein thing didn’t really help me?

I think they’re trying to clarify that the Cova/R4 ruling doesn’t screw up anyone else? And in fact, it would seem that R4/Seasoned Navigator got a bit of a buff, if anything?

But also they’re clarifying all the wrong parts of things, it feels like.

Edited by SpiderMana
3 minutes ago, SpiderMana said:

I... the Hera/R4/Nein thong didn’t really help me?

I think they’re trying to clarify that the Cova/R4 ruling doesn’t screw up anyone else? And in fact, it would seem that R4/Seasoned Navigator got a bit of a buff, if anything?

But also they’re clarifying all the wrong parts of things, it feels like.

Ya...

Quote

Q: If a ship executes a stationary maneuver in arc at range 2 of an enemy ship with Snap Shot equipped (or in the bullseye arc of an enemy ship with Foresight equipped), can the ship with Snap Shot (or Foresight) perform the bonus attack?

A: Yes.

Q: While "Scourge" Skutu performs an attack using Snap Shot, if the defender is in "Scourge" Skutu's bullseye arc, does "Scourge" Skutu add an additional attack die?

A: Yes.

Were these ever in doubt? I never heard anyone complain about adding attack dice to snap shot with abilities, or executing a stop maneuver to try and bypass snapshot.

6 minutes ago, SpiderMana said:

I... the Hera/R4/Nein thong didn’t really help me?

I think they’re trying to clarify that the Cova/R4 ruling doesn’t screw up anyone else? And in fact, it would seem that R4/Seasoned Navigator got a bit of a buff, if anything?

But also they’re clarifying all the wrong parts of things, it feels like.

My thoughts exactly.

The whole “enters/exits queue” thing is soooooo opposite of what makes this game fun.

Please undo that absurdly abstruse ruling. I’m a pretty good rules lawyer and even I can’t get my head around it all the way.

Seriously though. This was just to buff Cova and to nerf the Nantex, right? Well Cova doesn’t really need a buff and Ensnare needs an errata anyway. Only one batch of Nantexes out there so it’s not like an errata would be any worse than Slave I or the like.

Just fix it and stop screwing around with an otherwise elegant ruleset. You’re breaking the game trying to fix it and it will only get worse...

Edited by ClassicalMoser
Just now, wurms said:

Were these ever in doubt? I never heard anyone complain about adding attack dice to snap shot with abilities, or executing a stop maneuver to try and bypass snapshot.

Yeah whenever they do these FAQ it seems they pull a few random questions out of nowhere. Or maybe they get questions over email they think they need to clarify or something.

Yeah, I have less and less interest in running tournaments if I have to keep up with all of this.

All the conditions of If-this-then-that-except-for-when-ZBY-enters-the-top-of-the-ability-queue-3-steps-after-DownDownBYXStart-enters-the-back-of-the-ability-queue is way too much to keep track of.

I miss the days when the attach timing chart was complicated.

This is the kind of stuff that makes casual Timmys and Daddys run for the hills. Just another way that the Nantex is ruining the game.

18 minutes ago, RebelRogue said:

Yeah, I have less and less interest in running tournaments if I have to keep up with all of this.

All the conditions of If-this-then-that-except-for-when-ZBY-enters-the-top-of-the-ability-queue-3-steps-after-DownDownBYXStart-enters-the-back-of-the-ability-queue is way too much to keep track of.

I miss the days when the attach timing chart was complicated.

Would much prefer the old way of errata the card instead of rewrite rules to fit the card text. Changing a rule has a ripple effect on all abilities and strategies players currently know how to play. Errata a card text changes a single upgrade/pilot/ship.

R4 and Nien errata: Text should be preceded by "D uring the Execute Maneuver step ..."

Pintpoint Tractor Array should say: "After executing a maneuver, you may perform a rotate action, if you do, gain 1 tractor token."

EDIT: Also, errata of a single card is easier on 'new players'/'casual players not into the game so much' because they have their game, read the rules, player their homes games, then venture out to local gameshop and play a card once and told actually it works like this. Done. Thats it. But now, its like "Oh, sorry, you see none of those cards work that way, there is a thing called an ability queue and first you have to check if can pay the cost to have it enter that queue, and then when resolving that ability you have to then check to see if the ability can still trigger, and then actually pay the costs."

Edited by wurms
22 minutes ago, ClassicalMoser said:

My thoughts exactly.

The whole “enters/exits queue” thing is soooooo opposite of what makes this game fun.

Please undo that absurdly abstruse ruling. I’m a pretty good rules lawyer and even I can’t get my head around it all the way.

Seriously though. This was just to buff Cova and to nerf the Nantex, right? Well Cova doesn’t really need a buff and Ensnare needs an errata anyway. Only one batch of Nantexes out there so it’s not like an errata would be any worse than Slave I or the like.

Just fix it and stop screwing around with an otherwise elegant ruleset. You’re breaking the game trying to fix it and it will only get worse...

If I could post multiple "Likes", I would.

These rulings are a bit disparate, so maybe this will help:

For an ability to be added to the queue:

  • You must be able to pay the cost at the time it's being added.
  • You must satisfy any requirements (if-conditionals), such as "If you are tractored" at the time it's being added.
  • If it is an attack, you must be in range/arc to make the attack at the time it's being added.

However, choices like which ship to affect, "if you do", etc are deferred until resolution: they don't block adding to the queue. You just need to be able to resolve the ability at all to add it, and the options could change by the time it resolves.

For an ability to resolve:

  • The same three items must work or no resolution occurs (it's just removed):
    • pay costs
    • satisfy requirements
    • in range/arc (if it's an attack).
  • The Dalan ruling also says you need to resolve every part of the ability or you can't do any part (so for example: Gorgol cannot tractor an ally if they don't have a crit for him to fix).

And a reminder: If abilities are added to the queue, they can go to either the front or back depending on how they're added:

  • Normally, triggered abilities are added to the back
  • However, if an ability triggers from resolving another effect in the queue , it's added to the front of the queue but doesn't resolve immediately . Finish resolving the effect that triggered it, then proceed normally to pull from the front of the queue. (This may be part of why the examples they gave are such a mess. :) )

Opinions, hot takes, other nonsense:

I was hoping Snap Shot would help reign in jedi a bit, but this clarification makes it clear that the advantage is always to jedi, on top of their double mods, high init, and crazy maneuverability. Must feel good, being a republic player. Meanwhile, scum's every feature is getting nerfed regularly...

I'm pleased they finally covered what requirements are, finally addressing people pushing the maximum case that every part of every ability is a "requirement". Though it's odd that they also include the special case of partially resolving an attack, just to add the ability to the queue, returning a bit to "every part is a requirement". That feels very awkward and out of place, but I guess they were willing to warp the rules to help Jedi against Snap Shot. "Precious baby , did that mean snap shot scare you? Mama protect you..." Haha okay I'll stop. Maybe.

More seriously, here's hoping these rules updates are in preparation for a solid nerf to jedi etc, and a buff to other ships that are getting royally screwed. Make them stronger with errata to pair with raising their points.

The costs before queue stuff really messes up Butterbot synergy. DFS-311 used to be fantastic for DBS-32C and for Discord Missiles. Welp.

I wish they'd revisited the Dalan (kimogila) ruling and made it clear whether that's intended as a general ruling of all abilities (if you can't do every part of the ability, you can't do any part), or if it's more specific to Dalan and how he works. But supposedly it's intentional and affecting everything, then.

Am I the only one who's reading a lot of suppressed rage into the one-word "Yes" answer about Scourge? " YES , *gritted teeth* adding a die before rolling is not dice modification, for god's sake !" No? It's just me? Okay. :)

My head kinda hurts trying to determine how Hera and other maneuver color stuff resolves, but I think Hera no longer works at all with Nien Nunb and friends; they only affect maneuver color while executing the maneuver, not while changing the dial, checking it during an attack, etc. I'll revisit when I'm less busy and can give it a proper reading.

My hope with the ability queue complications is that we'll find a solid way to think about it that makes it easy, like we have with arcs (The phrase "When you attack with your Forward Arc..." is about the weapon used, e.g. "Hey Bro, when you attack with a Shotgun..."; "If the ship is in your Forward Arc" is like "If the ship is in front of you, bro"). But right now it's new and convoluted, with a lot of effort being put into preventing certain things that would be better handled with errata of the card (e.g. Snap Shot), but are instead affecting everyone.

I feel for the people who are sick of the rules being so convoluted. The Nantex and Snap Shot have brought a lot of... tortured rules text into the game. Not fun to learn and understand, not fun to explain. And I'm not fully convinced it's overall good for the game, but it's possible FFG is seeing stuff we're not, and they are fixing a larger issue than what it seems...

But IMO it could have been handled better.

Edited by Wazat
rearranged paragraph order, adding links