Visit the Tavern Warlock Quest and roll a 5

By The_Warlock, in Talisman Rules Questions

"Visit the Tavern" Warlock quest requires you to roll the die in the Tavern before you can claim your Talisman. But.... if you roll a 5 and encounter a Wizard that offers to teleport you on any space in this region (Outer region), if you're teleported to Warlock's Cave are you still able to benefit from the 5 or do you lose the ability to teleport in THIS region (either Outer or Middle, I would say Outer anyway).

I ask this because in yesterday's game a 5 at the Tavern would have meant a teleport to a space with a lot of goodies, since a Character died there, but I played it as if I could not teleport anymore since I was relocated at the Warlock's Cave. I won the game with the Troll (for now the best scorer ever, 3 wins out of 4 appearances) but I wish to know.

Any ideas/answers?

The_Warlock said:

"Visit the Tavern" Warlock quest requires you to roll the die in the Tavern before you can claim your Talisman. But.... if you roll a 5 and encounter a Wizard that offers to teleport you on any space in this region (Outer region), if you're teleported to Warlock's Cave are you still able to benefit from the 5 or do you lose the ability to teleport in THIS region (either Outer or Middle, I would say Outer anyway).

I ask this because in yesterday's game a 5 at the Tavern would have meant a teleport to a space with a lot of goodies, since a Character died there, but I played it as if I could not teleport anymore since I was relocated at the Warlock's Cave. I won the game with the Troll (for now the best scorer ever, 3 wins out of 4 appearances) but I wish to know.

Any ideas/answers?

I think You, after moving to Warlock, can Teleport. You got the result of Teleportation to any space in this Region as a next move. That effect stack at the beginning of Your next turn, and then it checks, what is Your Region You currently are, and then You can teleport to any space in this Region.

Nemomon said:

I think You, after moving to Warlock, can Teleport. You got the result of Teleportation to any space in this Region as a next move. That effect stack at the beginning of Your next turn, and then it checks, what is Your Region You currently are, and then You can teleport to any space in this Region.

So you mean I can teleport to any space in the Middle Region?

Interesting question..

i think that you must first complete the tavern encounter including teleportation.

After you teleport to a space and after that encounter you teleport back to the Warlock cave

If you teleport after the tavern encounter, then the enounter is not complete yet.

The tavern encounter must first be completed until the warlock quest teleportation is activated..

This is how i should handle it..

The_Warlock said:

"Visit the Tavern" Warlock quest requires you to roll the die in the Tavern before you can claim your Talisman.

Any ideas/answers?

Is this a ruling? Only thing I can recall is talismanamsilat (probably, not 100%) saying that "Visit X" quests are completed when you land on the space, before encountering it. IIRC, Cursed Glade was discussed then.

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

Dam said:

The_Warlock said:

"Visit the Tavern" Warlock quest requires you to roll the die in the Tavern before you can claim your Talisman.

Any ideas/answers?

Is this a ruling? Only thing I can recall is talismanamsilat (probably, not 100%) saying that "Visit X" quests are completed when you land on the space, before encountering it. IIRC, Cursed Glade was discussed then.

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

The link does not work, but i think i remember such a question with the city or village.

You land on it and complete the quest. before you do anything on that space..

Only if it says enchantress or mystic etc, then you must visit them..

I don't agree. if your quest is "visit the tavern" as soon as you reach the tavern you are instantly teleported to the warlock cave, without encounter the space. isn't it the normal iter for quests asking to reach a certain space? we have always played that way, and I'm not 100% sure but I remember rules say that.

Velhart said:

The link does not work, but i think i remember such a question with the city or village.

Odd, works for me. In case someone wants to find it manually, do a search in the Talisman section for "Cursed Glade" with talismanamsilat in the "Player messages" field.

Dam said:

Velhart said:

The link does not work, but i think i remember such a question with the city or village.

Odd, works for me. In case someone wants to find it manually, do a search in the Talisman section for "Cursed Glade" with talismanamsilat in the "Player messages" field.

The question and answer from Talismanamsilat was about the "Travel to..." Quests included in the Reaper set. In those cases it's enough to Travel to the City or to the Cursed Glade to complete the Warlock Quest. No need for risky encounters or an unwanted visit to the Enchantress.

Some Quests in the Frostmarch expansion are different. There's "Visit the Enchantress", which of course cannot be completed by only landing on the City Space. You have to roll and solve the effect before you can complete the Warlock Quest. I handle "Visit the Tavern" exactly the same way, so in case of a 5 I have a problem (I can ignore a 6 result because I'm already able to cross the river thanks to the Warlock teleport).

Wait a minute..

I think that you must roll the die at the tavern space by visiting the tavern.

if you roll a 5, the wizard offers you a teleport as you next move ( which means in your next turn)

the Tavern encounter is complete and you complete your quest and are teleporting back to the warlock cave.

i hope this is resolved now?...

When you roll a 5 it says the wizard offers to teleport you as your NEXT move.

Warlock quests teleport you to the cave as soon as they are completed.

So you land on the Tavern, roll the die. Is the visit complete once this is done, or once the results are hashed out?

This raises multiple questions:

On a 1 it says Miss 1 Turn. The rule is that if you still have stuff to do this turn then you this turns ends and counts as your missed turn. So do you now not get the Talisman from the Warlock? I find this one just as sticky as 5.

On a 2 you fight the farmer, your visit is complete after the fight, teleport to the Cave.

On a 3 or 4, deal with gold as appropriate.

On a 5, since it says your NEXT move, I would say that you get teleported to the Cave, get your Talisman, and on your next move can be teleported anywhere in the OUTER region. The Tavern says Outer Region on it. I would think the only other possible ruling is that since you no longer are with in the Tavern Wizard that you lose out on the ability to teleport. Frankly, I find that either makes sense. I prefer to believe that the magic takes hold on the original turn but doesn't fire until your next move.

On a 6 it's moot because the Ferry is a physical thing and you are no longer there to use it.

MonkOfDoom said:

When you roll a 5 it says the wizard offers to teleport you as your NEXT move.

Warlock quests teleport you to the cave as soon as they are completed.

So you land on the Tavern, roll the die. Is the visit complete once this is done, or once the results are hashed out?

This raises multiple questions:

On a 1 it says Miss 1 Turn. The rule is that if you still have stuff to do this turn then you this turns ends and counts as your missed turn. So do you now not get the Talisman from the Warlock? I find this one just as sticky as 5.

On a 2 you fight the farmer, your visit is complete after the fight, teleport to the Cave.

On a 3 or 4, deal with gold as appropriate.

On a 5, since it says your NEXT move, I would say that you get teleported to the Cave, get your Talisman, and on your next move can be teleported anywhere in the OUTER region. The Tavern says Outer Region on it. I would think the only other possible ruling is that since you no longer are with in the Tavern Wizard that you lose out on the ability to teleport. Frankly, I find that either makes sense. I prefer to believe that the magic takes hold on the original turn but doesn't fire until your next move.

On a 6 it's moot because the Ferry is a physical thing and you are no longer there to use it.

Thematically speaking, the wizard offers to teleport you so you have to be in front of him while he casts his spell. IMO is the same as you propose with 6, you're no longer there to be teleported, so nothing happens.

The '1' result looks even trickier; if you're teleported to the cave do you miss your next turn there, or do you have to miss a turn before completing the quest? Or is the "miss one turn" effect cancelled as you suggest for result 6? I think the "no effect" is not an option, because there's no purpose in rolling then. The effect shall always take place, including result 5 and 6. Question is: how?

There should be an official answer about when you do complete the quest; is it when you roll the die or is it when you resolve the effects of the roll?

Probably the best solution is the second one: roll, solve the effect (also in the next turn if it happens), then be teleported to Warlock's Cave.

Another one: what about being Toaded by the Enchantress with "Visit the Enchantress" active Quest? Are you teleported to the Cave as a Toad and must drop the Talisman there, or do you wait until you revert back to normal and are only then teleported?

My take on this:

If you roll a 1 to miss your next turn, I play it as: you go to the cave, get the Talisman and miss your next turn. (I kinda treat the completion of Warlock Quests and it's reward as outside of any timeline in the game... It's magic!)

If you roll a 5, it says a wizard offers to teleport you for your next move. Alas, you complete your quest, and are immediately teleported away from the wizard and appear before a warlock, thus unable to make use of the kind wizard's offer. Sad, but alas the wizard's powers aren't that strong. =( (Same with rolling a 6. Where'd the boatman go?)

If you roll a 1 on the Enchantress, since toads don't quests, they complete it, and teleport, but alas, the Warlock's princess is in another cave. Guess he'll have to leave the Talisman behind at the entrance for now.

If you have a quest that says "visit the tavern", all you have to do is to go to the space, you don`t roll. You are teleported right away to the cave, and recive a talisman, turn ends. simple happy.gif .

Fredrik Winde said:

If you have a quest that says "visit the tavern", all you have to do is to go to the space, you don`t roll. You are teleported right away to the cave, and recive a talisman, turn ends. simple happy.gif .

Sorry if I insist on this but please read the posts before answering.

There's a Reaper Warlock Quest named "Travel to City", which is completed as soon as you land on the City space (there is a thread here with this statement). There's aksi a Frostmarch Warlock Quest named "Visit the Enchantress", which is not the same quest since you have to land on the City AND Visit the Enchantress (= roll the die and see what happens).

"Visit the Tavern" is not "Travel to Tavern", so it is ruled just as other Visit-type quests. This is why I'm asking the question. sonrojado.gif

I wish there could be the same interpretation for every case. If the Quests instructs a Character to roll the die, each result should have a meaning. If you roll at the Tavern and do something different for each possible result (some results are valid, some have no effect, etc), it's not a consistent solution.

I'd prefer that every single result could be played to its full extent. For example if you roll a 1, you miss one Turn in the Tavern and only then you're teleported. with a 5-6 you get to be teleported/carried by the ferry, have an encounter and then be teleported. With a 1 on the Enchantress Space I think it could be possible to take all 3 Turns as a Toad and only then be teleported to the Warlock's Cave. If you're still alive. It could be harsh in the Middle Region for a Toad, but not as much as having 2-3 other Characters around, in addition to space encounters.

Well, it's just what I'm thinking. Until we have an official answer, everybody's playing the right way.

Fredrik Winde said:

If you have a quest that says "visit the tavern", all you have to do is to go to the space, you don`t roll. You are teleported right away to the cave, and recive a talisman, turn ends. simple happy.gif .

I've made the same mistake few days ago, but I was wrong...if the quest say "visit" it means that you must encounter the space, I agrre with this interpretation. for example, during last game i draw "visit the black knight", so I reached the BK, I payed 1 or 2 gold (don't remember) and THEN I was teleported. I believe this is the right way. About tavern I play like this: if I roll 5, next turn i'm teleported to the W. cave, but i lose the tavern's "effect". If i lose 1 turn, i'm teleported to the cave but I'll lose my next turn. If I have to fight someone (I use the tavern homebrew from talismanisland) I fight first, then teleported. but we need an official answer for this topic...

hmm, ok. happy.gif . never played it like this before, but ok, meke sense of curse when you start to think about it. "travel" or "go to" means you just have to land on the space, but "visit" you must do the encounter, then your teleported, got it happy.gif

i think the 5 is negated,,because as soon as you visit the tavern and roll,,,you are immediately teleported

The danger of using logic, is that, as a devious friend of my always proves, there is always a way to rationalize everything. Obviously, an official ruling is the best, but, this is how my friend makes EVERY tavern result applicable after you appear at the Warlock’s cave. Everything is paraphrased.

1-Drunk. Collapse for a turn.

Effect = You appear on the Warlock’s cave, get your Talisman, and Miss a Turn.
Rationale = You are drunk out of your mind when you are done at the tavern. The Warlock teleports you to his cave and gives you the Talisman. You then say “Shanks good shhhir. I’ll keepsh jis talishman after a wee lil napsh.” and fall down drunk.

2-Fight a Farmer of ST 3.

Effect = The Warlock teleports you and the farmer to the cave where you proceed to fight.
Rationale = Just like in Star Trek IV with the female environmentalist and Capt Kirk during the Transporter episode, or, for me, much cooler… when Johnny Cage leaps at Scorpion in Mortal Kombat 1, you and the farmer, mid fight, fall through the Warlock’s portal to fight in Scorpion’s lair…er… I mean the Warlock cave.

3-Lose a gold.

Effect = You lose gold gambling and you get teleported to the Warlock cave after your losing hand.
Rationale = No need.

4-Gain a gold.

Effect = You win gold gambling and you get teleported to the Warlock cave after your winning hand.
Rationale = No need.

5-A Wizard teleports you to a space of your choosing in this region by next turn.

Effect = You teleport to the Warlock’s cave first, to get your Talisman, and then, you port to somewhere else in the Middle region on your next turn.
Rationale = The Wizard casts a spell on you when you arrive at the tavern. He says “The spell will teleport you to anywhere within 30 miles. Just concentrate on your destination, and you will appear. Remember, it has to be within 30 miles of you.” The Warlock then teleports you to his cave. You grab the Talisman. Around you is still the blue energy of the Wizard. Since you are now in another country (the middle region), you have to think of a destination within 30 miles of here i.e. any square in the middle region.

6-A boatman decides to ferry you across.

Effect = You teleport to the Warlock’s cave first, to get your Talisman, and then, you take the boatman and his ship as a ferry to the City (corner square)
Rationale = A bigger version of 2. As per many Sci-Fi shows, say Star Trek, a ship can extend its shields and Warp / Hyperspace to pull another ship with it. The Warlock’s spell encompasses you AND the ship when you reach the ship (as I said, same as 2- but bigger), and you get teleported to the River near the cave. (Who says you are actually teleported in the middle of the cave. It’s a big square after all, representing miles). After you get your Talisman, you go back to the Ferry, in its new location near the caves, to go the City. Ferryman then begins the LONG paddle back to the Tavern.


All the above is BS, but that’s after just 2 min of talking with my friend. Or, as he says better than me…

“There is a precedent for the above in another card = The Caravan. So, therefore, when you hit the Tavern, poof to the warlock cave and pretend you just encountered the Caravan card at the Warlock Cave square. Done. Simple. Not official, of course, but simple.”