Heff Tober and Pinpoint Tractor Array?

By TasteTheRainbow, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Heff:

After an enemy ship executes a maneuver, if it is at range 0, you may perform an action.

PTA

After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a(rotate) action.

So I get to add Heff’s ability to the queue if a Nantex bumps. But if they tractor themselves off of him do I still get an action?

Edited by TasteTheRainbow

I would say depends on who has player one. If you're player one, you get your Heff action before the Nantex player gets the pinpoint tractor. If you're not, you don't. From what I can understand, the ability queue resolves in player order when multiple effects share the same timing window.

I'd agree with that. In both cases, the execution of the maneuver is the trigger, and both abilities are added to the queue in player order. Then when it comes time to resolve them, Heff checks range. So if Heff is player two, and player 1 tractors himself away, Heff's ability isn't able to resolve and is removed from the queue.

1 hour ago, feltipern1 said:

I would say depends on who has player one. If you're player one, you get your Heff action before the Nantex player gets the pinpoint tractor. If you're not, you don't. From what I can understand, the ability queue resolves in player order when multiple effects share the same timing window.

That’s what I thought, thanks. Bringing Wedge them so they’ll hand me first player. Suckers!

we should wait until FAQ, which should be coming soon to clarify ability queue.

my opinion in the current rules is both abilities are added to the queue in player order and both abilities are resolved in that order, even if pinpoint tractor array moves the nantex out of range 0 of heff.

3 hours ago, meffo said:

we should wait until FAQ, which should be coming soon to clarify ability queue.

my opinion in the current rules is both abilities are added to the queue in player order and both abilities are resolved in that order, even if pinpoint tractor array moves the nantex out of range 0 of heff.

I'm seeing it the same way. Heff's requirement is a trigger requirement and must be true when the ability is triggered to add it to the queue but doesn't need to be true when the ability is resolved.

So a Nantex could tractor away from Heff and he would still get his action, but if Arvel finished a maneuver at range 1 and used Afterburners to boost into range 0, Heff would not get his free action because the condition was not true when his ability was triggered.

I can see that too. the "if" seems to indicate its a conditional requirement added to the maneuver trigger.

Reference!

U-Wing_Tobber.png

4 hours ago, joeshmoe554 said:

I'm seeing it the same way. Heff's requirement is a trigger requirement and must be true when the ability is triggered to add it to the queue but doesn't need to be true when the ability is resolved.

So a Nantex could tractor away from Heff and he would still get his action, but if Arvel finished a maneuver at range 1 and used Afterburners to boost into range 0, Heff would not get his free action because the condition was not true when his ability was triggered.

Hopefully we get a little more clarification with this soon as it's currently not clear if requirements need to be met when the ability resolves as well as when the ability is added to the queue.

So with the new FAQ does that mean the tractor move comes after everything in the queue is done?

40 minutes ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

So with the new FAQ does that mean the tractor move comes after everything in the queue is done?

The "tractor move" is actually a game effect that results from becoming " Tractored ." Game effects always enter the front of the queue, but don't preempt abilities that are currently being resolved. In this case...

  • When the (first player) Nantex overlaps (second player) Heff , both abilities would enter the queue:
    • QUEUE: Pinpoint Tractor Array , Heff Tober
  • Then, during the execution of PTA , the Nantex gains a tractor token and becomes Tractored (Game Effect) . It immediately enters the queue:
    • QUEUE: PTA (currently in effect) , Tractored , Heff Tober
  • The Nantex completes the effect of PTA , rotating its mobile arc, THEN the effects of Tractored trigger.
    • QUEUE: Tractored (currently in effect) , Heff Tober
  • After the Nantex fulfils the requirements of becoming Tractored , Heff Tober's ability checks to see if it can resolve (is the Nantex is still at Range 0).
    • QUEUE: Heff Tober
  • Since the Nantex is probably no longer at Range 0, Heff Tober's ability no longer meets its own requirements, the ability drops out of the queue, and you move to the next step in the game (technically the Nantex's skipped Perform Action Step).

So game effects can join the same queue after the other queue items are already in progress? That’s odd.

57 minutes ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

So game effects can join the same queue after the other queue items are already in progress? That’s odd.

That's the very nature of a queue... it's an order of things that happen. In this case, once something in the queue starts happening, it has to finish before the next item in the queue can occur... but that doesn't mean the queue itself must remain static. Newly triggered effects always go to the front of the queue, with player abilities (which have now been defined as any effect created by a card controlled by a player) always stepping back and giving precedence to game effects (which, by elimination, is everything that's not due to a card effect).

9 hours ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

So game effects can join the same queue after the other queue items are already in progress? That’s odd.

Sorry, i miss-typed.

Any effect (player or game) can be added to the queue, while the queue is being resolved. But if an effect is currently in the middle of being resolved, it doesnt interrupt that. Its only added as a new, complete, effect.

Quote

If resolving an effect from the ability queue triggers additional effects, they are added to the front of the ability queue using the above rules.

Edited by Lyianx
corrected statement
8 hours ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

So game effects can join the same queue after the other queue items are already in progress? That’s odd.

Yes. Very. This is why I have problems with the ability queue, comprehension-wise.

18 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:

Yes. Very. This is why I have problems with the ability queue, comprehension-wise.

I get it now. I don’t think I’ll be confused. I just dislike having every ability that can fail going in the Nantex’s direction.

Is a linked action and the associated stress also a “game effect” that would pop into the queue ahead of second player?

2 hours ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

I get it now. I don’t think I’ll be confused. I just dislike having every ability that can fail going in the Nantex’s direction.

Is a linked action and the associated stress also a “game effect” that would pop into the queue ahead of second player?

Good question! I'd say someone else is going to give a better answer than I could. Linked actions are player effects, so it's unlikely, but people like @meffo or @Wazat , who've been around longer, and are more rules-focused, are likely to be able to help.

linked actions can be added to the ability queue if the player controlling the ship that has just performed an action that has the linked action on it's pilot card. if an enemy ship has an ability that has the timing of after the ship that wants to perform the linked action, it can be added to the ability queue as well. as always, player order always determines in which order the abilities can be added to the queue.

gaining stress from a red action always occurs after the action has been performed. gaining stress from a red action is a game effect. therefore it is always added to the front of the queue and resolved immediately. for all intents and purposes, linked actions are player's abilities.

Capture.jpg

3 hours ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

Is a linked action and the associated stress also a “game effect” that would pop into the queue ahead of second player?

I *believe* linked actions are still considered player abilities, but its ambiguous. Linked actions typically go to the front of the queue.

Okay.

So if Heff is first player and coordinates a focus->link->boost into a nearby a-wing then all of that would resolve before the pinpoint even got started, yes?

4 minutes ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

Okay.

So if Heff is first player and coordinates a focus->link->boost into a nearby a-wing then all of that would resolve before the pinpoint even got started, yes?

Yes. The linked boost is added to the front of the queue, and PTA is still in the queue, waiting to be resolved, so the linked boost gets put ahead of it, because its triggering from a focus, that was coordinated.