Is his coordinate action giving an action, then stress, then either a focus or force recharge?
I want to be sure before I try using him.
Is his coordinate action giving an action, then stress, then either a focus or force recharge?
I want to be sure before I try using him.
After you perform a purple
action, the ship you coordinated gains 1 stress token.
Then it gains 1 focus token or recovers 1
So yes. He coordinates, grants an action to the ship. The ship performs 1 action. Then that ship gains a stress token. Then that ship can either gain a focus token, or it can recover a force charge.
After you perform a purple [coord] action, the ship you coordinated gains 1 stress token. Then, it gains 1 focus token or recovers 1 [force].
I'm not sure what you think is ambiguous?
that's what the card says, yes. the ship he's equipped to gains a purple coordinate action on it's action bar. the cost of purple actions is paying one force. after a ship he's coordinated has performed one action, you move on to the timing of the ability, where the ship he's coordinates gains one stress token. it then gains one focus token or recovers one of it's force charges.
please see "Coordinate" on page seven of the rules reference for more information about how the coordinate action works. in essence, the action the ship is granted by being coordinated is performed as part of the coordinate action, meaning it could perform a red action (or even a red boost action - and if equipped with collision detector and electing not to spend a charge from that, even boost up on top of a debris cloud, gaining a second stress, the rolling for wounded pilot if it has that damage card, gaining a third stress token etc.) before gaining the stress from darth sidious's ability. please note that even if the action the coordinated ship takes fails, it's still been coordinated and so the ability still happens.
you can also successfully coordinate a ship that's already stressed, even if it can't perform actions. a coordinate action only fails if no ship to be coordinated can be chosen. the ability is mandatory, so you cannot elect not to make the ship you've coordinated gain a stress and gain a focus or recover a force charge.
Thanks
I’m just surprised that I never see this card used...seems good to me
Well, the ship gaining the stress is kind of a cost you may not want to have that often.. at least not yet. And once you flip to the Sidious side, that's where it says (so you cant go back to the starting side). Also, its 14 points and (currently) can only be flown on the Sith Infiltrator. He may gain some popularity when more crew carrier options become available.
He worked just fine on R2 in a Y wing along side Delta 7 Obi and Ric
1 hour ago, Lyianx said:Well, the ship gaining the stress is kind of a cost you may not want to have that often.. at least not yet. And once you flip to the Sidious side, that's where it says (so you cant go back to the starting side). Also, its 14 points and (currently) can only be flown on the Sith Infiltrator. He may gain some popularity when more crew carrier options become available.
He's a Republic card, too, so he can be put onto an ARC, or the R2-D2 Y-Wing (which has a crew slot instead of an astromech). As further prequel ships arrive (LAAT? Naboo Cruiser?), or in Epic (on the CR90 Corvette or C-ROC), his ability could see more ready use.
Still leaves limited separatist options. Given how much coordinating can be done on the republic side by other, more efficient means (Ahsoka Tano is a much better option in this regard, even with reduced range), makes Palp more aimed at the separatist side (at this point in the game), and less efficient on the republic. So i stand by my statement.
Ironically, I've seen him used a lot in a Separatists Quick Build force (He comes on 0-66) largely to prove a point; DFS-081 comes equipped with Proton Rockets, and Sidious' influence is the only way poor lil Doofus can ever fire them....