Can Droids Gain Focus Tokens?

By General_Grievous, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can ships such as the vulture Droids gain focus Tokens? Day from Darth Sidiois crew?

Yes. Besides Darth Sidious, check out Guri's ability "At the start of the Engagement Phase, if there is at least 1 enemy ship at range 0-1, you may gain 1 focus token.". Guri is a droid and does not have the focus action.

14 minutes ago, General_Grievous said:

Can ships such as the vulture Droids gain focus Tokens? Day from Darth Sidiois crew?

Sure. A ship without a boost or barrel roll action can be given a boost or barrel roll action. Ships without evade can be given evade tokens. Gaining a focus token is specifically stated in the rules reference as not being performing the focus action.

Page 3:

Game effects such as “gain 1 focus token,” “boost,” or “acquire a lock” are not actions, and a ship can resolve these game effects any number of times each round. Game effects such as “perform a 󲁀 action,” “perform a 󲁃 action,” or “perform a 󲁁 action” are actions, and therefore each ship can perform each of these actions only once per round.

Thank you both!

Technically, a ship that couldn't normally perform a focus action could even be granted the ability to do so... say, Jake Farrell giving a focus action to AP-5, Leebo, or Chopper.

Personally, i think some cards, like Perceptive Copilot , should also grant the focus action to the ship, in case it's installed on a droid... but that's just me.

latest?cb=20180914000149

2 hours ago, General_Grievous said:

Can ships such as the vulture Droids gain focus Tokens?

Did a Droid write this?

3283874003?profile=RESIZE_710x