Adding dice and Grand Inquisitor

By SirToastsalot, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If player 1 has an effect that adds a die, and player 2 has grand Inquisitor, is it based on player order for how to determine when each die is added?

For example, player 1 has an arc 170 that is range 1 of grand Inquisitor. He's also in the firing arc of a 2nd arc with seventh fleet gunner. Which player would need to declare their abilities first? Is it player order, or since it's during an attack, is it defender modifies, then attacker? It matters because if The Grand Inquisitor is forced to modify first, he could spend a force to remove a die, then the Arc could add seventh fleet to return it 4 dice. The other way, the first player could use seventh fleet to add the die, then the Inquisitor can save the force since even if they remove the range 1 bonus, there are still 4 dice coming in.

Player order.

Swz33_7th-fleet-upgrade.png

Swz07-grand-inquisitor.png

both effects have the same timing, so they are resolved in player order if both players elect to add the abilities to the ability queue. the abilities have nothing to do with dice modification, but happen when dice are rolled. the limit of four dice that seventh fleet gunner sets is then applied. only when the dice have been rolled you move on to the Modify Attack Dice step.

Capture.jpg

5 hours ago, meffo said:

...

Capture.jpg

This excerpt from the Rules Reference (1.0.5) p.5 is particularly important for this question because it says that you do not apply the number cap until after all increases and decreases are done.

So in @SirToastsalot 's 7FG vs Inqi example it is a significant disadvantage for Republic to be player 1 because they have to waste the charge just to ensure their 4 dice at r1. If 7FG spends the charge up to 5 dice then Inqi doesn't have to do anything because the cap will remove it for him, but if 7FG doesn't spend the charge then Inqi can either not spend his charge (for the same number) or does spend his charge to reduce down to 3.