Sunny Bounder/Heavy Laser Cannon

By Shwagg420, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hey all, does putting a Heavy Laser Cannon on Sunny Bounder result in a possible 5 dice hitting?

Roll dice

Modify dice; Reroll with Target lock Spend Focus

Here’s the question;

Then, do both card abilities trigger at the same time? (So my choice of order)

In theory then 4 “Hits” adds another die for a total of 5?

Edited by Shwagg420

Heavy_laser_cannon.png

as you can see, Heavy Laser Cannon's effect triggers after the modify attack dice step. sunny bounder is adding a result - and that's done during the modify attack dice step. so if you have a crit mixed in with your hit results, sunny bounder won't give you another hit result, no.

14 minutes ago, Shwagg420 said:

Hey all, does putting a Heavy Laser Cannon on Sunny Bounder result in a possible 5 dice hitting?

Roll dice

Modify dice; Reroll with Target lock Spend Focus

Here’s the question;

Then, do both card abilities trigger at the same time? (So my choice of order)

In theory then 4 “Hits” adds another die for a total of 5?

As @meffo stated above, you need to have the same die result to add anything, during the specific timing window that Sunny allows: After you roll or reroll your dice. That means focus-focus-focus-focus counts, as does hit-hit-hit-hit, and so on. Hit-hit-crit-crit, though, won't trigger Sunny... then would turn into four hits AFTER the modify step.

Interestingly, if you roll hit-hit-focus-blank, and you have both a lock and a focus token, it MIGHT be better to spend the focus first to give you a 3/8 chance at landing the five-dice HLC shot. Note that the rules for spending locks require you to reroll at least one die, so you can't pull the trick of rolling hit-hit-focus-focus, spending your focus, then spending the lock to reroll 0, and adding another hit.

There is also some dispute over whether or not you could modify your dice twice in one attack. Some claim once-per-opportunity refers to the entire attack ; others state that once-per-opportunity refers to each roll of the dice . In theory, with enough separate sources of rerolls, the latter interpretation could possibly chain some ridiculous dice results.

latest?cb=20180914111134

33 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

In theory, with enough separate sources of rerolls, the latter interpretation could possibly chain some ridiculous dice results.

The probability of which is ludicrously low.

Ok, yeah, any Crits will prevent it from popping (unless I get 4 of them). And it looks like I would HAVE TO spend the focus before TL, as Sonny’s ability pops after a reroll. So don’t think you can TL reroll, then focus, then pop Sunny in that order.

57 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:

The probability of which is ludicrously low.

200.gif

nevermind

Edited by Lyianx
2 hours ago, Lyianx said:

Sorry, but this does not work. According to the rules of lock.

If you spend a lock, you have to reroll at least 1 die.

that's exactly what he said, though. ;)

1 hour ago, meffo said:

that's exactly what he said, though. ;)

so he did. My eyes focused too much on the die combos he was throwing out and they jumped to the " hit-hit-focus-focus" thing. *shrug*

a 4 blank result would also trigger Sunny's ability.