Nantex and outmaneuver

By executor, in X-Wing Rules Questions

14 hours ago, joeshmoe554 said:

and then a 3rd symbol for Krassis Trellix for performing an attack from your $whatever.

Under this schema I would hope she would have been written differently...

16 hours ago, Wazat said:

BTW the difference isn't relevant to the icon, but to the other wording in the card.

"In your Icon arc standard front ": ship's position

"While you perform a Icon arc standard front attack": arc used for the attack.

Both of these are referring to your Front Arc, and so unsurprisingly use the Icon arc standard front icon. However, one of them cares about where the target is, and the other cares about the weapon being fired. "While you perform a [Front Arc] attack" is like another game saying "While you perform a [Shotgun] attack". "In your [Front Arc]" is like a different game saying "In front of you". I've found the wording is unclear to people until they start to see it this way, and then it becomes easy.

In the same line of thinking, I'll Show You The Dark Side cares about you suffering crit damage, while Reinforce cares about uncanceled hit/crit results while you defend. Both effects refer to the Icon damage crit icon, but the context is completely different.

Would you then say that, given that, Krassis wouldn't be able to use Outmaneuver with his ability?


latest?cb=20180703035219

2 hours ago, Lyianx said:

Would you then say that, given that, Krassis wouldn't be able to use Outmaneuver with his ability?


latest?cb=20180703035219

Not speaking for @Wazat but: "You may perform Front Arc special attacks from your Rear Arc." doesn't change that the attack being performed is a Front Arc special attack, unlike "You may treat your special attacks' Front Arc requirements as Rear Arc." (like the Heavy Weapon Turret ability on the TIE/sf, except not mandatory) which would.

1 hour ago, Hiemfire said:

Not speaking for @Wazat but: "You may perform Front Arc special attacks from your Rear Arc." doesn't change that the attack being performed is a Front Arc special attack, unlike "You may treat your special attacks' Front Arc requirements as Rear Arc." (like the Heavy Weapon Turret ability on the TIE/sf, except not mandatory) which would.

Yup, I'm agreeing with this interpretation, at least until FFG pulls the carpet out on us with its own unpredictable reinterpretation. ;)

Thanks, @Wazat for the clarification above.

It's good to see that I'm not the only one that has issues with the wordings.

2 hours ago, feltipern1 said:

Thanks, @Wazat for the clarification above.

It's good to see that I'm not the only one that has issues with the wordings.

Nor will you be the last.

Pg 4 of the Rules Ref.

Bullseye arc (
󲈩 😞 This arc is found inside the 󲈫 . If something is in a ship’s 󲈩 , it is also in its 󲈫 .

14 hours ago, Scoutguy said:

Pg 4 of the Rules Ref.

Bullseye arc (
󲈩 😞 This arc is found inside the 󲈫 . If something is in a ship’s 󲈩 , it is also in its 󲈫 .

A Bullseye Arc attack is not a Front Arc attack.

Edited by Hiemfire