Ability Queue... can I abort?

By emeraldbeacon, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Say I'm flying Anakin (Aethersprite) with R4-P17. I perform a red maneuver, and gain stress, but have a nearby enemy ship to allow me to remove stress (and I do so: 1 force charge spent, 2 remaining). I want to use my droid and/or fine-tuned controls to get into better position, so I queue both abilities up. I use the droid to boost into position, but now, I realize that I don't really want to Fine-Tuned after all; I'm safely out of attack arcs, and will get a suitable range 1 shot on the enemy as well. Can I choose to "abort" the Fine-Tuned Controls ability that's already been queued up? Am I required to at least attempt to use the ability (meaning I have to spend a force), because I put it in the queue?

(Obviously, in the above situation, it would have been smarter to Fine-Tuned first, then at least I could use the Droid action to focus or lock if required to spend the droid charge).

I don't see why not since Fine Tuned is a "may" ability.

43 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Say I'm flying Anakin (Aethersprite) with R4-P17. I perform a red maneuver, and gain stress, but have a nearby enemy ship to allow me to remove stress (and I do so: 1 force charge spent, 2 remaining). I want to use my droid and/or fine-tuned controls to get into better position, so I queue both abilities up. I use the droid to boost into position, but now, I realize that I don't really want to Fine-Tuned after all; I'm safely out of attack arcs, and will get a suitable range 1 shot on the enemy as well. Can I choose to "abort" the Fine-Tuned Controls ability that's already been queued up? Am I required to at least attempt to use the ability (meaning I have to spend a force), because I put it in the queue?

(Obviously, in the above situation, it would have been smarter to Fine-Tuned first, then at least I could use the Droid action to focus or lock if required to spend the droid charge).

under actions on pg 3.

Quote

A ship can choose not to perform an action during the Perform Action step or when granted an action.

Edited by Lyianx
On 9/20/2019 at 4:37 PM, Lyianx said:

under actions on pg 3.

Well, that answers whether or not the ship is required to execute the barrel roll or boost. But, if the ability has already been queued, is the force charge forfeit? We know a cost cannot be paid for an effect that cannot be completed, but in this case, the cost paid is for the opportunity, which you declined to take. Basically, one of three situations is in effect:

  1. Once queued, you MUST attempt a Fine-Tuned Controls boost or roll. (I don't think this one is reasonable)
  2. Once queued, your force charge WILL be spent, but you are not required to attempt the boost or roll. (I can see an argument for this)
  3. Despite queueing the ability, you may decline to use Fine-Tuned Controls, meaning you keep your force charge. (This seems like the most reasonable answer, but I have doubts)

If an ability is triggered and all of the requirements to trigger are met, then it should be added to the queue. You shouldn't need to choose whether or not to resolve the ability until to resolve the ability.

Can you even use Fine-Tuned Controls after a red maneuver? By the new ability queue rules wouldn't you have to declare the ship ability boost or barrel before using Anakin's ability to clear the stress? By then you wouldn't be able to use the ship ability, since you'd be stressed and couldn't perform actions...

@emeraldbeacon wait, I though costs paid for failed actions WERE forfeit?!

In the past couple of days I’ve seen mention of this with both answers. Now I’m confused as to which is correct.

31 minutes ago, K-2SO said:

@emeraldbeacon wait, I though costs paid for failed actions WERE forfeit?!

In the past couple of days I’ve seen mention of this with both answers. Now I’m confused as to which is correct.

There is a difference between failing an action you attempted, and not attempting that action in the first place. The question here is, are you allowed to forfit the attempt, and if so what happens to any costs paid?

32 minutes ago, K-2SO said:

@emeraldbeacon wait, I though costs paid for failed actions WERE forfeit?!

In the past couple of days I’ve seen mention of this with both answers. Now I’m confused as to which is correct.

You're 100% correct, but this situation is a little different. It's not whether or not a cost is forfeit for a FAILED action, it's whether or not a cost is forfeit for a triggered/queued effect, that is subsequently declined.