Does Snap Shot prevent all effects that you trigger by canceling a result?
Thane? Optimized Prototype?
Edited by TasteTheRainbowDoes Snap Shot prevent all effects that you trigger by canceling a result?
Thane? Optimized Prototype?
Edited by TasteTheRainbowIf you mean, can you trigger something like Cody, yes. Cancelling is not modifying.
3 minutes ago, DR4CO said:If you mean, can you trigger something like Cody, yes. Cancelling is not modifying.
How is cody related to cancelling dice?
20 minutes ago, TasteTheRainbow said:Does Snap Shot prevent all effects that you trigger by canceling a result?
Thane? Optimized Prototype?
Snap Shot doesn't prevent any results from being CANCELLED, because cancelling isn't a modification... but the two you mentioned (Thane Kyrell and Optimized Prototype) don't work by cancelling dice. Rather, they work by SPENDING RESULTS. Other notable result-spenders are Seyn Marana and Rose Tico (crew)... their effects are useless with Snap Shot.
Commander Cody was mentioned, though... I think that was addressed, because his ability triggers when his hits or crits are "neutralized" (presumably, by evade results). There's no reason why Cody wouldn't trigger after his parent ship used Snap Shot (or Foresight, for that matter).
16 minutes ago, Lyianx said:How is cody related to cancelling dice?
I replied before Rainbow added his examples, so we had to take a punt at exactly what he meant.
11 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:Commander Cody was mentioned, though... I think that was addressed, because his ability triggers when his hits or crits are "neutralized" (presumably, by evade results). There's no reason why Cody wouldn't trigger after his parent ship used Snap Shot (or Foresight, for that matter).
![]()
Well, no. Because Cody isnt Cancelling dice. Saying his ability triggers other abilities triggered by "cancelling dice" is saying that Snapshot doesnt allow die results to be neutralized. It makes no sense.
A better example would be Biggs
Since, as you said, Canceling results is not a mod, Biggs can still effect a Snap Shot attack against his friends.
59 minutes ago, Lyianx said:Well, no. Because Cody isnt Cancelling dice. Saying his ability triggers other abilities triggered by "cancelling dice" is saying that Snapshot doesnt allow die results to be neutralized. It makes no sense.
My example with Cody was that his ability could trigger off of a "missed" Snap Shot, same as it could trigger off of a missed regular shot, assuming the rest of the conditions of his card were met.
Thane and optimized prototype is primary weapon only, so no snap shot 😩 😩
1 hour ago, JBFancourt said:Thane and optimized prototype is primary weapon only, so no snap shot 😩 😩
Even if it wasn't spending results is a modification, so it wouldn't work.
27 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:Even if it wasn't spending results is a modification, so it wouldn't work.
Are you sure spending results is a modification? I can't find "spend results" anywhere in the Rulebook or Rules Reference in the attack sections. Would you spend a result in one of the modification steps or at the end of the "Neutralize Results" step? We don't know the results until after Neutralize Results is complete do we? You can't spend something you don't have.
31 minutes ago, Frimmel said:Are you sure spending results is a modification? I can't find "spend results" anywhere in the Rulebook or Rules Reference in the attack sections. Would you spend a result in one of the modification steps or at the end of the "Neutralize Results" step? We don't know the results until after Neutralize Results is complete do we? You can't spend something you don't have.
Rules Reference Page 9..
QuoteDICE MODIFICATION
Players can modify dice by spending various tokens and by resolving abilities. Dice can be modified in the following ways:• Add: To add a die result, place an unused die displaying the result next to the rolled dice. A die added in this way is treated as a normal die for all purposes and can be modified and canceled.
• Change: To change a die result, rotate the die so that its faceup side displays the new result.
• Reroll: To reroll a die result, pick up the die and roll it again.
• Spend : To spend a result, remove the die from the dice pool.
You would spend during the appropriate dice modification step.
Edited by Lyianx1 minute ago, Lyianx said:Page 10..
Quote from Rules Ref.
Good enough. Totally missed that.
Although...
They don't define "dice pool." "Pool" appears once in the Rulebook under "Neutralize Results" on page eight and only appears twice in the Rules Ref. Seems they should have defined dice pool or perhaps three dice pools: Attack Pool, Defense Pool, Results Pool. Then they could have specified which pool to spend from allowing some spends to be modifications and some to not be modifications. RAW versus RAI again it seems. That is neither here nor there though since spending results is clearly placed under dice modification.
Duped it up. Not really sure how I did that. Thought I didn't click and double-clicked sending twice?
Edited by Frimmel10 minutes ago, Frimmel said:Good enough. Totally missed that.
Although...
They don't define "dice pool." "Pool" appears once in the Rulebook under "Neutralize Results" on page eight and only appears twice in the Rules Ref. Seems they should have defined dice pool or perhaps three dice pools: Attack Pool, Defense Pool, Results Pool. Then they could have specified which pool to spend from allowing some spends to be modifications and some to not be modifications. RAW versus RAI again it seems. That is neither here nor there though since spending results is clearly placed under dice modification.
They also dont define what a die is. They assume you know. Or, if its not defined, then use the common accepted definition of it.
Quotethe dice pool is the number of dice that a player is allowed to roll when attempting to perform a certain action.
In dice pool systems it is common to add or subtract dice from the pool to represent different circumstances.
X-wing uses a dice pool system. They really shouldn't need to define every word or term unless it deviates from the standard.
On 9/19/2019 at 7:40 AM, Lyianx said:...
X-wing uses a dice pool system. They really shouldn't need to define every word or term unless it deviates from the standard.
But since X-wing is a relatively easy access miniatures/wargame it would be prudent of them to put in definitions for "standard" language. For some new players the only "dice pool" they've seen before could be the five dice in Risk, or the two dice in Monopoly (if you can even count that as a pool).
I wouldn't be bothered if FFG added a section at the back of the Rules Reference for a glossary of standard terms if they're worried about cluttering up the main entry section. Or even if they had a separate "Glossary of game terms" document they could reference for all of their games.
Since this is being brought up, as per Cody, if the shot missed and 1 or more dice were “neutralized”, this would have to be during the natural defense roll, right? NOT by being canceled by modifications after the fact. In other words neutralize and cancel are two separate effects?
32 minutes ago, K-2SO said:Since this is being brought up, as per Cody, if the shot missed and 1 or more dice were “neutralized”, this would have to be during the natural defense roll, right? NOT by being canceled by modifications after the fact. In other words neutralize and cancel are two separate effects?
Dice results are typically neutralized in the "compare results" step, which is after defensive dice modification... evades neutralize hits and crits, then the overall result moves on to the Deal Damage step. Cody doesn't care about whether the results are cancelled "naturally" or via modified results.
3 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:Dice results are typically neutralized in the "compare results" step, which is after defensive dice modification... evades neutralize hits and crits, then the overall result moves on to the Deal Damage step. Cody doesn't care about whether the results are cancelled "naturally" or via modified results.
He kinda does. But im not sure which situation of events would occur where die results were canceled, but not neutralized, and the attack still missing. That said, neutralizing isn't the same as canceling. So simply canceling a die result during the die mod step, isn't enough to trigger Cody.
Not sure if thats what you meant.