Cost vs Non-cost

By Lyianx, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can someone explain the logic behind this? These two seem contradictory.

Quote

Q: If a ship attempts a purple action (such as a [barrel roll] or [boost] action) and fails the action, must it still spend the [force]?

A: Yes. A purple action's [force] cost is a "cost to attempt to perform [that] purple action" (see Actions) and is still paid even if the action fails.

Q: If Anakin Skywalker [Naboo Royal N-1] uses his pilot ability to barrel roll (note that this is not a [barrel roll] action) and fails, must he still spend the [force]?

A: No. A barrel roll can fail in the same manner as a [barrel roll] action, but because Anakin's ability is not an action, the [force] cost is a cost to resolve the effect (which Anakin cannot do in the case of failure) rather than a cost to
attempt the action.

How is one the cost for the attempt, yet the other is not? Are they saying that if its an action, its a cost, if its not an action, its a resolution?

I noticed this as well. I think what they're trying to say (rather poorly) is that IN ALL CASES you can not pay a cost unless you can resolve the effect. In most cases, you know whether or not you can complete the effect at the time of paying the cost (recovering a shield, performing an action, etc). However, in some cases (Anakin) you do not know if the effect can be completed at the time of paying the cost so the best solution is to pay the cost, attempt the effect, then if the effect fails you "roll back time" to before you paid the cost so that ultimately you never pay a cost without an effect.

The important precedent that they've set is that failing an action does not count as failing an effect.

The difference is subtle, but distinct. It comes down to the interaction between two rulings:

  1. If you cannot complete an ability, you cannot pay the cost for that ability.
  2. When an action fails, it resolves in a default manner.

Taking those two rules together, it means that a hypothetical purple boost or barrel roll action would require the force to be spent, while Anakin's ability would not.

Confused? I'm not surprised! The difference between the two is simple and subtle: Anakin's barrel roll is not an action. Here's how the two abilities would each play out:

  1. For a purple boost or barrel roll action , first the cost would need to be paid. Then, if the action fails (for whatever reason), it resolves in a non-standard, default manner (i.e. no repositioning happens). Because the action did still resolve, albeit in a default manner, the cost remains paid.
  2. Anakin is different, because his barrel roll is not an action. When he spends a force to attempt it, if it fails, he returns to his original position as usual. However, because it is not an action , there is no default resolution to the barrel roll... it just doesn't work. Since the ability could not be completed, Anakin cannot pay for the cost of the ability, and he therefore is refunded 1 force charge.
3 hours ago, Lyianx said:

Can someone explain the logic behind this? These two seem contradictory.

FFG seems to be going along the general lines of:

For actions, you have to declare you're doing it first, then check if it's possible (and, if so, how), and if it turns out to be impossible, it "fails" (i.e. produces no good results and cannot be linked off, but still consumes any cost, counts as used for the round, and gives stress if it's red).

For non-actions, you check whether it's possible first, then only pay costs if it's possible and you decide to do it.

Edited by Quarrel
4 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

When an action fails, it resolves in a default manner.

I forgot about this. This alone was enough to clear it up. Makes sense now. When you try anakins BR, if it cant be completed, it doesn't actually 'fail', so nothing mechanically, ever happened. But that does mean that non actions wait until the attempt resolves before paying the cost.

This means that for Vader, you are allowed to measure out to range 3, and if you actually select a ship beyond range 1, Then you spend the force. But if you decide not to, you do not spend the force.

Miss-remembered what he did. my bad.

Edited by Lyianx