Snap Shot vs Ric Olie vs Ionization

By markrivett, in X-Wing Rules Questions

"While you defend or perform a primary attack, if the speed of your revealed maneuver is higher than the enemy ship’s, roll 1 additional die."

When Ric Olie takes a snap shot from a ship that has not yet revealed a maneuver (I6 and some I5s):

a) Ric's ability has no affect because there is no "revealed maneuver" to compare.

b) Ric's ability takes affect because the speed of his "revealed maneuver" is higher than the enemy ship's "revealed maneuver", which is effectively 0 at this stage.

If the answer is (a) and the linchpin of the ruling is "revealed maneuver" vs "revealed maneuver", does Ric Olie's ability NOT take affect against ionized ships who never "reveal" their maneuver?

Thank You

It's a, and Ric's ability doesn't fire against ionised ships, because they have no revealed dial.

Not having revealed a dial (yet) doesn't mean your revealed speed is 0, it means it's a null value that can't be compared with.

RR pg 13

Quote

If a ship’s dial is not revealed, or it was not assigned a dial that round, that ship does not have a revealed maneuver.