Nantex and Debris

By Alarum, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If you gain a Tractor token to perform a rotate action, do you rotate before or after you reposition the ship? If it is after the reposition and you reposition on to debris are you stressed before you can rotate? If so can you even reposition on to a debris if you can’t complete the action because you can’t pay a cost for something you can’t resolve?

I don't think it's 100% clear, but I believe you must resolve the tractor token first. Effectively, you gain the token and rotate at the same time, and I would say that Tractored status is a game effect which must therefore resolve before performing a rotate action.

1 hour ago, Alarum said:

If you gain a Tractor token to perform a rotate action, do you rotate before or after you reposition the ship? If it is after the reposition and you reposition on to debris are you stressed before you can rotate? If so can you even reposition on to a debris if you can’t complete the action because you can’t pay a cost for something you can’t resolve?

I'd say you have to do the reposition first, but you don't get to take it back if you cause yourself stress by doing so, simply because the game isn't set up to reverse time like that.

23 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

I'd say you have to do the reposition first, but you don't get to take it back if you cause yourself stress by doing so, simply because the game isn't set up to reverse time like that.

It could be abused in niche situations though. Say your arc is facing left and the opponents ship is to the left but out of range 1 on the other side of debris. You tractor yourself on to the debris to get range one and a stress. Now if you don’t have to rotate the arc or move back to where you were you avoided a major drawback of the ship ability.

I have no idea how it is meant to work but I am going to be flying these things for a while and would like to try and cover all the bases.

5 minutes ago, Alarum said:

It could be abused in niche situations though. Say your arc is facing left and the opponents ship is to the left but out of range 1 on the other side of debris. You tractor yourself on to the debris to get range one and a stress. Now if you don’t have to rotate the arc or move back to where you were you avoided a major drawback of the ship ability.

I have no idea how it is meant to work but I am going to be flying these things for a while and would like to try and cover all the bases.

It certainly could.

But it comes with both a penalty (stress) and a risk (crit, on a ship without shields; more stress and another roll if you misjudge to the point where you fly over the thing next round) so I'm not HUGELY bothered.

4 hours ago, Maui. said:

I don't think it's 100% clear, but I believe you must resolve the tractor token first. Effectively, you gain the token and rotate at the same time, and I would say that Tractored status is a game effect which must therefore resolve before performing a rotate action.

I dono about that.

Quote

player whose effect applied the tractor token may choose one of the following effects:

Its not even required to move the ship when you become tractored. Its the player who applied the effects choice to move it, and how to move it. But im not 100% on this as it also doesnt really seem to invlove the ability queue? Or does it? That also brings in the question of timing for someone like Petty Officer Thanisson (Crew)

Quote

During the Activation or Engagement Phase, after an enemy ship in your [front arc] at range 0-1 gains a red or orange token, if you are not stressed, you may gain 1 stress token. If you do, that ship gains 1 additional token of the type that it gained.

Now this isnt particularly impactful, because it comes down to player order, but other abilities may conflict with the timing in the future. Would the tractored effect be put in the ability queue?

3 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

But it comes with both a penalty (stress) and a risk (crit, on a ship without shields; more stress and another roll if you misjudge to the point where you fly over the thing next round) so I'm not HUGELY bothered.

Agreed. Thats quite the cost to pay to not rotate, so im fine with it.

You're not required to actually move the ship, but I would argue that you are required to resolve the tractored status first, whether you move your ship or not, because it is a game effect. I don't think you can choose to rotate your arc and then barrel your ship, because I think that performing a rotate action is a player ability, and resolving tractored status is a game effect.

But I also don't think it's clear. Some official guidance would be nice, as well as clarifications on what constitutes an ability vs game effect. It seems to be that stuff that resolves due to rules in the RRG is a game effect, while stuff that resolves due to rules on cards are player abilities. But that's not actually written anywhere and sometimes the line can get a little muddied, like here where it appears (to me, at least) that there is a player ability that resolves both a secondary player ability and a game effect at the same time.

Yeah. What is a "game effect" vs what is a "player ability" is an entirely different debate. And i more or less agree. Just wanted to throw that out there.

The main problem is the wording on the Natex,

After you execute a manoeuvre - this part is ok, we know that AFTER means you do it right immediately after executing a manoeuvre

, (comma) - Across their games FFG use this to differentiate the first part of an ability to the second part, everything before a comma has to be done before you do the stuff after a comma

you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a rotate action - This is all one sentence, there is no comma, no full stop and no THEN wording - this is worded as a SINGULAR ability

But Tractor tokens use the word AFTER But FFG also don't really have interrupts or nested sequences in X-Wing

At this stage I'm leaning towards you gain a tractor, rotate arc then check for tractored status because the wording is a singular ship ability and you need to resolve one thing before you move onto the next