Gorgol (Nantex)

By Boreas Mun, in X-Wing Rules Questions

During the System Phase, you may gain 1 disarm token and choose a friendly ship at range 1-2. If you do, it gains 1 tractor token, then repairs 1 of its faceup Ship trait damage cards.

Can I perform this on a ship without faceup Ship trait damage cards?

Yes, I think so.

There is a rule that indicates that you cannot pay a cost to accomplish a task, if the task cannot be accomplished.

But this isn't phrased that way. There are two separate clauses here. You can gain a disarm token and choose a ship. Separately, and only if you do, that ship gains a tractor token then repairs a card.

Perhaps this is intended to be phrased 'you may gain 1 disarm token to choose a friendly ship at range 1-2, and give that ship a tractor token and repair one of its card' but it's not phrased that way, so I don't think that rule would apply.

In short, I think you can do this even if it doesn't have cards to repair, but it's by no means clear.

No, if there is not a friendly in range 1-2 with a ship damage card, then you can not use Gorgol’s ability. I can not find it in the Rules Reference, but “1 means 1”. Of you can’t find a valid friendly in range, the action does not succeed, and no consequences are incurred.

First, even though the card doesn’t say “must”, it is inferred everything is a “musts unless it explicitly says “may”. Rules Reference 1.0.4, Card Interpretation:

The word “must” is used to mean “is required to.” Although all effects that are not “may” effects are mandatory, the inclusion of “must” is used to reiterate a mandatory effect that could provide a drawback to the ship with the effect.

I can’t find it in the RR, but I know it’s in there: “1 means 1”.

Also note, under Abilities/Paying Costs, the RR says:

A ship can pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved.

And, there is a specific list of actions that can fail:

A ship can fail when it barrel rolls, boosts, coordinates, decloaks, deploys, jams, locks, or SLAMs.

So even if Gorgol’s action doesn’t succeed, it doesn’t count as a Failed Action.

I agree with @thespaceinvader that it is two clauses, but selecting a ship without a face up Ship Damage Card will still result in an unsuccessful clause two — and no Tractor Token.

There are two clauses:

1. Gain a Disarm Token to choose a friendly at range 1-2.

2. Friendly gains a Tractor Token to repair 1 face up card.

If you chose a ship without a face up Ship Damage Card, only clause two would not succeed, and that ship would not gain the Tractor Token. Clause one was still successful and you still have the Disarm Token.

However, if clause one is unsuccessful, you do not get the Disarm Token.

Edited by Opsmason
40 minutes ago, Opsmason said:

I agree with @thespaceinvader that it is two clauses, but selecting a ship without a face up Ship Damage Card will still result in an unsuccessful clause two — and no Tractor Token.

There are two clauses:

1. Gain a Disarm Token to choose a friendly at range 1-2.

2. Friendly gains a Tractor Token to repair 1 face up card.

If you chose a ship without a face up Ship Damage Card, only clause two would not succeed, and that ship would not gain the Tractor Token. Clause one was still successful and you still have the Disarm Token.

However, if clause one is unsuccessful, you do not get the Disarm Token.

default card

I don't think the tractor token fails. The ability does not say "gain a tractor token to repair" a damage card. It says: gains a tractor token, then repairs a card. Gaining a tractor token is not a cost that must be paid to repair a card; it's one of two consequences that happen sequentially to the ship chosen by Gorgol.

i don't think it works without a faceup ship damage card, no. closest comparison is Dalan Oberos.

Ugh I'd forgotten that Dalan was the example they use for 'paying a cost to do something' when he's not actually phrased that way...

There is 'and' in Dalan's ability, here is 'then'. It is not 'single effect', so you cannot use him as example here.

I'm pretty sure there's no other card with wording equivalent to gorgol

I would say you can't. Also going on the "you need at least 1 to remove 1" train.

Closest similar wording I could find is: Spare parts Canisters

Clearly Spare parts can be used whether you have locks or not, because it says to break "all" locks. Which would mean 0 to many.

But I may easily be persuaded that Gorgol works. Really not certain on this one.

Edited by Bort

Yeah, the only thing I'm convinced about here is that FFG needs to clarify this interaction.

56 minutes ago, svelok said:

I'm pretty sure there's no other card with wording equivalent to gorgol

I'm pretty sure the most direct comparison to gorgol is Jabba, and Jabba is common sense bound by "can't pay cost if can't resolve effect", so that's probably how gorgol works too

Card_Upgrade_133.png

On 9/16/2019 at 5:18 AM, Boreas Mun said:

During the System Phase, you may gain 1 disarm token and choose a friendly ship at range 1-2. If you do, it gains 1 tractor token, then repairs 1 of its faceup Ship trait damage cards.

I'm reading the "then" separator in this to indicate that they want you to resolve the effect of the tractor token before you can repair a damage card. But would also agree, a ship damage card needs to be repairable to resolve the effect.

Another variation on the scenario.

You target one of your own ships with Gorgol (for the sake of this thread let's say it already has a Ship crit) that is next to a debris field.

For some reason (say to get out of a dangerous R1 enemy arc) you choose to roll your own ship onto the Debris field.

Do you roll for the Debris damage first?

So if you have bad luck AND you roll the crit AND you get a ship damage card. Can you then repair this new crit as part of the whole Gorgol effect? Or am I missing something in the timing here.

Basically does all the: gaining the tractor, moving for being tractored, rolling for landing on a Debris field, interrupt the effect of Gorgol.

My gut says it has to remove the original crit, and keep the new one. But my brain hurts.

On 9/16/2019 at 6:48 AM, Boreas Mun said:

During the System Phase, you may gain 1 disarm token and choose a friendly ship at range 1-2. If you do, it gains 1 tractor token, then repairs 1 of its faceup Ship trait damage cards.

Can I perform this on a ship without faceup Ship trait damage cards?

Given previous, similar situations, like the Dalan (Kimogila) ability that @meffo cites above, this would be a hard "no". Just like having a shield gone in order to regenerate it, or having a shielded ship with no active shields (and thus unable to be targeted), you need to meet the conditions of all clauses for the ability to have an effect.

At least, that's my reading.