Rebel Han Solo and Snap Shot

By markrivett, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Does " This does not count as rerolling for the purpose of other effects." mean that Han can reroll his Snap Shot dice, or is this reroll still "modification"?

Thank You

Q: Can Han Solo [Pilot, Modified YT-1300]’s ability be used on a die that has been rerolled?

A: Yes. Han Solo’s ability is not treated as a reroll, so it can be used on a rerolled die.

That's the most directly relevant FAQ answer, but they've not directly addressed whether he works when modification is blocked.

Implication is yes but *shrug*

From the Official rulings thread.

Quote

Q: How is Han Solo [Rebel, Modified YT-1300]'s ability categorized? Is it a dice modification? Is it a reroll? What is its timing window?

A: Han Solo's ability is treated as a dice modification effect that is not a reroll. Because it is a dice modification effect, when attacking or defending, it triggers during the Modify Dice step. Note, however, that it can also affect other die rolls, such as the roll to determine if a ship suffers damage from overlapping or moving through an asteroid.

So yes, its still a modification.

Oh cool I forgot that that had made it into the thread.

Wonder why they didn't put it into the RR.

Also I know they clarified, I think, that Midnight shuts down Han's ability.

1 hour ago, thespaceinvader said:

Oh cool I forgot that that had made it into the thread.

Wonder why they didn't put it into the RR.

Post timing. I think by the time the 2nd section of posts happened (that this question was part of) they had already made the update to the official rules reference guide, and they posted it like a few days later. Not sure why 'politically' they didnt hold off on the update and post it.. Probably has something to do with the forum post coming from the designers, and the pdf having to go though marketing and the web team, so might have already been submitted by the time the forum post got updated.