Targeting computer

By wsmith32, in X-Wing Rules Questions

can a ship that already has target lock on its action bar take targeting computer and get a second target lock If so can it take 2 locks on same ship or has to be 2 different ships

5 minutes ago, wsmith32 said:

can a ship that already has target lock on its action bar take targeting computer and get a second target lock If so can it take 2 locks on same ship or has to be 2 different ships

A ship can equip it, but it does nothing except waste points*. Targeting computer simply adds the Lock action, but doesn't let you alter the rules of Lock in any way.

* A Resistance Transport Pod can use a white (no Stress) Lock action, rather than a red (stress) Lock action.

Edited by theBitterFig

A lock action is a lock action is a lock action. No matter where it comes from, once you perform a lock action, you cannot perform another lock action.

16 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

A lock action is a lock action is a lock action. No matter where it comes from, once you perform a lock action, you cannot perform another lock action.

I think the question was more whether subsequent lock actions in following rounds would add a lock rather than replacing it.

And the answer is no. Unlss you have R3 Astromech.

thanks for the input thespaceinvader was correct the question was about getting a second lock in subsequent rounds

the question was poorly worded I thought the answer was no but could not help dreaming of an E wing with 2 locks and R-4

1 hour ago, wsmith32 said:

thanks for the input thespaceinvader was correct the question was about getting a second lock in subsequent rounds

the question was poorly worded I thought the answer was no but could not help dreaming of an E wing with 2 locks and R-4

Ahh. yeah. Gotcha. Yeah, that hits the "A ship can maintain only one lock." rule on RR pg 13

On 9/12/2019 at 10:15 AM, theBitterFig said:

A ship can equip it, but it does nothing except waste points*. Targeting computer simply adds the Lock action, but doesn't let you alter the rules of Lock in any way.

* A Resistance Transport Pod can use a white (no Stress) Lock action, rather than a red (stress) Lock action.

If you have a Targeting Computer on a Punisher does it turn its linked TL from a boost white?

1 minute ago, kempokid said:

If you have a Targeting Computer on a Punisher does it turn its linked TL from a boost white?

No. It just adds another white Lock action to the bar.