Snap Shot as a normal attack

By MasterShake2, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So, the situation came up with an RZ-2. It's firing arc was pointed backwards and it used Snap Shot to attack a ship after that ship executed a maneuver. In the engagement phase, my opponent wanted to know if he could use Snap Shot as his normal attack. For reference:

-

"After an enemy ship executes a maneuver, you may perform this attack against it as a bonus attack."

-

It looks like it's only a bonus attack when you're using it after a ship executes a maneuver, so the answer would be yes, but that might be completely wrong.

Wow, that’s clever. I agree; as written, it works.

It’s going to be better as a bonus attack (less likely the target will have a focus or evade token), but better than nothing.

Foresight, as well, looks to work this way, with the added bonus of no force cost for the chained attack. And while it's not a great weapon, Foresight really isn't terrible, in most circumstances. Even if your primary attack is 3, you're giving up 1 attack die to deny 1 defense, and you have a baked-in free calculate token. Especially good if the source ship has 2 attack (like TIE Adv/v1 Inquisitors or non-Delta-7B Jedi)

Also, cards, for reference!

latest?cb=20190828185943 latest?cb=20190813214217

Yeah, this works fine as it did in 1e.

Indeed. As long as it has the ATTACK prompt and doesn't say something like "you cannot use this in the engagement phase" or whatever you're all good to go.

They're not great weapons, but they do provide a bit of coverage for a ship with a turret primary which plans to have its turret 'broadside on' 90% of the time

So.... does this mean this is a cheaper way to power out the HWK290 In Arc abilities?

The FAQ (or forum I forgot) already ruled that In Arc is range 1-3 even if your weapon shoots 1-2. This ruling was for Drea with a dorsal still working at range 3.

Pretty excited!

found it:

Q: Does a ship’s firing arc extend to to range 3 even if the weapon using that arc does not?

A: Yes. For example, if Drea Renthal (Scum, BTL-A4 Y-wing) is equipped with a Dorsal Turret [Turret], she can use her ability on ships at range 1–3 in her turret arc.

Edited by JBFancourt

No. Because snap shot is a special weapon and doesn't create a new 'arc', in the same way a ship with torpedoes or missiles doesn't count its forward arc as 'in arc' when a bow-tie turret is lined up 'broadside'.

The only special weapon type which does is a turret, because it has an 'always there' pointer.

The only ways to get new arcs for things to be in are turret weapons and thing which add primary weapons (currently the Moldy Crow title and a Sheathipede docked to a Ghost).

Gotcha!

I'm just going to note that the title of this thread is wrong. It's not about *Trick Shot* as a normal attack but *Snap Shot*

1 hour ago, theBitterFig said:

I'm just going to note that the title of this thread is wrong. It's not about *Trick Shot* as a normal attack but *Snap Shot*

nerd :p

3 minutes ago, MasterShake2 said:

nerd :p

but hes not wrong :P

To put my two cents in, it really depends on if FFG says Snap Shot is a "special Weapon".

On one hand...

Quote

Special weapons appear as “ Attack :” headers in card text.

Which is has. But on the other hand...

Quote

For cards with special requirements, all of those requirements must be met in order to perform that attack.

They could argue that the text above the "attack" header is its special requirement, meaning it can only be used when that requirement is met. But i personally view the "requirement" as being part of the "Attack" description. So for snap shot, the only requirement is that dice from its attack cannot be modified.

In short, i agree with everyone here in that it can be used in a normal attack, but just wanting to put that out there that FFG may say "no" for the above reason.

Edited by Lyianx

It can be (and indeed is) both a special weapon, and a card with special requirements.

Special weapons are any non-primary weapon, which it is.

nvrmnd. Thanks @Maui.

Edited by Hiemfire

Ordnance upgrades do not add attack firing arcs. Neither does Snap Shot or Foresight.

Quote

Firing Arcs
A ship’s firing arcs include all shaded arcs on the ship’s ship token plus all [turret] arcs, if any.
• If an upgrade card gives a ship a [turret] arc or primary weapon with a specified arc, those arcs are also firing arcs.

Page 4.

Edited by Maui.

I would argue that the text above the Attack header is a special trigger rather than a special requirement, but I get what you're saying @Lyianx . FFG could arbitrarily rule that it is a requirement.

49 minutes ago, nitrobenz said:

I would argue that the text above the Attack header is a special trigger rather than a special requirement, but I get what you're saying @Lyianx . FFG could arbitrarily rule that it is a requirement.

Oh i personally agree with that as well. Just saying, don't be surprised if FFG doesn't agree with us :P

Sooo... is there a consensus here yet?

I mean, if you take a decimator, point the turrets sideways and have snapshot:

1. are you even able to use it when enemy lands at range 2 in front of you?

2. are you able to use it as a normal attack (e.g. when nobody is in your normal turret arcs pointed sideways)?

Yes to both.

Yeah, id say until FFG says otherwise, its a special weapon that you can use like a cannon or torpedoes that happens to allow a bonus attack in specific conditions.

What it doesn't do is let things count as in your firing arc, if that is the only weapon of yours which can currently target them (i.e. you can't use Vader Crew via Snap Shot, only via your Decimator's normal turret arcs).

6 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

What it doesn't do is let things count as in your firing arc, if that is the only weapon of yours which can currently target them (i.e. you can't use Vader Crew via Snap Shot, only via your Decimator's normal turret arcs).

Well yeah. It has an arc requirement, it doesn't *add* a firing arc. To my knowledge, the only special weapons that "add" firing arc's are turret weapons.

6 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

Well yeah. It has an arc requirement, it doesn't *add* a firing arc. To my knowledge, the only special weapons that "add" firing arc's are turret weapons.

As noted upthread, the only things that add firing arcs are turret upgrades and things which add primary weapons (currently, therefore, only Moldy Crow, the Ghost title with a docked titled shuttle, Dorsal, and Ion Cannon Turret).

Just now, thespaceinvader said:

As noted upthread, the only things that add firing arcs are turret upgrades and things which add primary weapons (currently, therefore, only Moldy Crow, the Ghost title with a docked titled shuttle, Dorsal, and Ion Cannon Turret).

Yeah, i said "special weapons". The titles are not special weapons so i wasn't including those because they specifically state that they add primary arcs.

I do not understand what this thread is asking nor what this thread concluded.