Chaining Ensnare with Petranaki Aces

By player3180731, in X-Wing Rules Questions

How are end of activation abilities like Ensnare sorted out? Do they start at low Initiative and go high or start high and go low?

If I have 4 Petranaki aces (A,B,C,D) with ensnare; their arcs each point toward the next letter Petranaki ace and A is tractored. Does this work assuming the criteria of the Ensnare is met?:

'A' transfers his token to 'B' to do a barrel roll. Since both ships are the same initiative 'B' now has a tractor token for Ensare to work. 'B' transfers to 'C' and 'C' to 'D' whom ends activation with the token after performing a boost or Barrel roll.

the ability queue has nothing to do with ship initiative what so ever. the player that controls the abilities chooses in which order to resolve the abilities. it is described at page three of the rules reference.

"ABILITY QUEUE
The ability queue is used to resolve the timing of multiple abilities that trigger during the same timing window. Abilities are resolved from the front of the queue to the back of the queue. These abilities are added to the back of the ability queue using the following rules:
1. If both players have abilities that triggered from the same event, the abilities are added to the ability queue in player order.
2. If a player has multiple abilities that triggered from the same event, that player chooses the order that those abilities are added to the ability queue.
3. If resolving an effect from the ability queue triggers additional effects, they are added to the front of the ability queue using the above rules. See Appendix for 2 examples of the ability queue.
• If there are game effects that share the same timing window as a player’s ability, the game effect is resolved first.
◊ For example, if a ship performs a red barrel roll and the ship has an ability that triggers after it performs a barrel roll, the ship gains a stress token before the other ability is resolved."

1 hour ago, player3180731 said:

How are end of activation abilities like Ensnare sorted out? Do they start at low Initiative and go high or start high and go low?

@meffo is correct in that "end of activation" abilities are governed by the Ability Queue (RR1.0.4 p.3) because it is a timing window within a phase rather than a phase in and of itself.

The question here isnt regarding initiative, as has been mentioned, but instead weather the ships without tractors would "trigger" and be able to enter the que.

Similar case for Anakin + Afterburnes/R4-P17. The consensus so far has been that "trigger/triggered" only means "timing occurs/occured" and the other requirement only needs to be checked/met before you would do the ability.

The other interpretation is because of the position of the if statement before the 'you may...', that it's imposing an additional requirement for an ability to "trigger".

I have seen it called both ways, but there seems to be a strong lean toward the first interpretation. I'd suggest running that way, but check with the TO before a tournament of time to confirm they are on the same page.

You'd hope FFG would comment but there's been no official word and it's been an issue since March.