Say I have an Inquisitor with Foresight, facing your Jedi Knight, and I'm first player. I move and take a focus. Then you move, and land in my bullseye arc, allowing me to trigger Foresight. Since I'm first player, am I right in assuming Foresight triggers before you get the chance to roll or boost out of the way with Finely Tuned Controls? Same would be true for Full Throttle, or the Nantex ability.
Foresight timing question
Correct, Foresight versus other 'after (fully) executing a manouevre' triggers are resolved in player order.
8 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:Correct, Foresight versus other 'after
(fully)executing a manouevre' triggers are resolved in player order.
"Fully" is not specified. This is important because having fully specified would stop a block into a Foresight trigger.
Other wise yah.
2 hours ago, Hiemfire said:"Fully" is not specified. This is important because having fully specified would stop a block into a Foresight trigger.
![]()
Other wise yah.
My point was that it has the same interaction with both timings.
Indeed. Having First Player is very important with a snapfire-based squad; as otherwise you're throwing unmodified shots at targets with Full Throttle evade tokens or potentially losing your shot entirely.
Do you need to spend a force if you wanted to use this as your normal attack?
2 minutes ago, Andyf1702 said:Do you need to spend a force if you wanted to use this as your normal attack?
No
And if you do you still get the free mod which is interesting if you already spent it.
Similarly, if the Jedi with initiative moves and then chooses to FTC boost/barrel into Foresight's bullseye arc, the inquisitor would be able to take the foresight attack, correct?
Yes it would. It's still in the 'after executing a manoeuvre' timing window. Interesting catch.
On 9/17/2019 at 9:11 AM, Something Wicked said:Similarly, if the Jedi with initiative moves and then chooses to FTC boost/barrel into Foresight's bullseye arc, the inquisitor would be able to take the foresight attack, correct?
The new rules reference clarifies that this is incorrect.
Quote• If an ability’s requirements are not met, it cannot be added to the ability queue. For example, at the start of the Engagement Phase, if a ship has an ability that requires it to be tractored, but that ship is not tractored, that ability cannot be added to the queue. The ship cannot add the ability to the queue even if another ability also added to the queue at the start of the Engagement Phase would cause that ship to become tractored upon its resolution.
Foresight's ability has no requirements aside from the enemy executing a maneuver. You could not check to see if the opponent is in the attack arc or attack range until you perform the attack which would occur after FTC if the Jedi player is First Player.
We'll need FFG to weigh in at some point, but it seems to me that the requirement simply be that you can still perform a bonus attack (haven't already used it). Digging into "are they in range/arc" happens when you start resolving the card.
But... FFG has flipped a lot of stuff on its head today with the new errata, so... we really need word from them.
Edited by Wazat