Dalan (Starviper), Afterburners and Daredevil question

By Hiemfire, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Cards:

•Dalan Oberos Daredevil Afterburners

Dial:

Maneuver starviper

Prelims out of the way, can Dalan (used in this example due to a possible 3 stress cost reposition + facing change combo) Daredevil the Afterburners boost off of a Sloop or does Daredevil changing it from white to red cancel out the "you may spend 1 Icon charge to perform a Icon action boost action" clause despite the "even while stressed."?

Yup this all works as you'd expect. Its also worth noting that dalan and aft3rburners have th3 same trigger so if you're not stressed you can do th3m both, in either order.

10 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

Yup this all works as you'd expect. Its also worth noting that dalan and aft3rburners have th3 same trigger so if you're not stressed you can do th3m both, in either order.

I had noticed that. :D It's why he's the example, I was muddling around with a furball/"Ace"+ 4 build and Daredevil popped into mind as an expanded repositioning option.

So this pilot can triple reposition?

24 minutes ago, Texasmagpie said:

So this pilot can triple reposition?

depends on how you define reposition.

he can change his facing after executing a maneuver, yes. that's before the perform action step, simultaneously with afterburners. if you want to change his facing you get a stress token, which prevents him from performing a barrel roll action during his perform action step after having used his ability and afterburners.

you cannot change his facing after the perform action step, since boosting or barrel rolling is not executing a maneuver - and you do not get to perform any actions during his perform action step if you've changed his facing, since he'd be stressed.

he cannot equip contraband cybernetics or pattern analyzer, which is very unfortunate in my opinion, even though it's probably best that way to avoid confusion.

so if you define changing facing and executing a maneuver as repositioning, he can triple reposition, yes. since most people don't include executing a maneuver as repositioning, he can only ever double reposition with afterburners equipped, as in boosting and then barrel rolling, or boosting and then changing facing with his ability.

So as I understand it, Dalan could start his maneuver:

  1. Perform a 3-speed straight or bank maneuver, or 4-straight, then...
    1. ...rotate 90 degrees, and receive one stress, then...
      1. ...not use Afterburners. (1 stress total)
      2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally. (1 stress total)
      3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress. (2 stress total)
    2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally, then...
      1. ...keep the same facing (0 stress total)
      2. ...rotate 90 degrees and receive one stress (1 stress total)
    3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress, then...
      1. ...keep the same facing (1 stress total)
      2. ...rotate 90 degrees and receive one stress (2 stress total)
  2. Perform a 3-speed Segnor's Loop, and receive a stress from the maneuver, then...
    1. ...rotate 90 degrees, and receive one stress, then...
      1. ...not use Afterburners. (2 stress total)
      2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally. (2 stress total)
      3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress. (3 stress total)
    2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally, then...
      1. keep the same facing (1 stress total)
      2. ...rotate 90 degrees and receive one stress (2 stress total)
    3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress, then...
      1. keep the same facing (2 stress total)
      2. ...rotate 90 degrees and receive one stress (3 stress total)

After all of which, he moves to the Perform Action step, and probably doesn't get an action because of all those shiny red tokens. ;)

Edited by emeraldbeacon
34 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

So as I understand it, Dalan could start his maneuver:

  1. Perform a 3-speed straight or bank maneuver, then...
    1. ...rotate 90 degrees, and receive one stress, then...
      1. ...not use Afterburners. (1 stress total)
      2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally. (1 stress total)
      3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress. (2 stress total)
    2. ...not rotate, then...
      1. ...not use Afterburners. (0 stress total)
      2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally. (0 stress total)
      3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress. (1 stress total)
  2. Perform a 3-speed Segnor's Loop, and receive a stress from the maneuver, then...
    1. ...rotate 90 degrees, and receive one stress, then...
      1. ...not use Afterburners. (2 stress total)
      2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally. (2 stress total)
      3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress. (3 stress total)
    2. ...not rotate, then...
      1. ...not use Afterburners. (1 stress total)
      2. ...use Afterburners to Boost normally. (1 stress total)
      3. ...use Afterburners + Daredevil to Boost with a hard-1 template, and receive one stress. (2 stress total)

After which, he moves to the Perform Action step, and probably doesn't get an action because of all those shiny red tokens. ;)

You missed that since Dalan and Afterburners share the same timing Dalan can rotate his facing after afterburnering including when using Daredevil.

3 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

You missed that since Dalan and Afterburners share the same timing Dalan can rotate his facing after afterburnering including when using Daredevil.

Time to edit with a WHOLE BUNCHA NEW OPTIONS!

I think you really want L3 in there to give him a roll into focus before all that :D